Jump to content
  • 2020 Super 32 Preview

    By Y2CJ41
    Published in 

    The season is around the corner and this weekend will be the ultimate test for Indiana grapplers at the Super 32. There are 45 Indiana athletes registered for this year’s event in Myrtle Beach. Of interest will be a few wrestlers that will be new to Indiana wrestling this year that could make a big impact at Bankers Life in February.


    Belt Contenders

    Three state champions along with a sophomore with a load of national success highlight the Indiana wrestlers that will contend for a coveted Super 32 belt. Sergio Lemley is back in Indiana after winning an Illinois state title last year. He is nationally ranked and won IHPO in September. He will be in the mix at a deep 120lbs weight class.


    State champion Zeke Seltzer took an early loss last year and was unable to crack the top 8. This year he will take on a lot of top guys at 126lbs. His weight features the two top ranked guys in the nation, but Zeke has shown he belongs in this group.


    Chesterton’s Evan Bates won a state title at 220lbs but will be looking for a belt at 195lbs this weekend. He placed 5th here last year at 195lbs. His toughest foes include a couple top 5 wrestlers in Seth Shumate and Brandon Hoselton.


    Lastly, Christian Carroll is also in the mix at 195lbs. Everyone in Indiana has known for a while he is extremely talented. However, he did not get to show it off as an injury sidelined him last year. He won the Grappler Fall Classic at 215lbs a couple weeks ago knocking off a couple ranked wrestlers. He is one that many inside and outside of Indiana are watching this weekend.


    Podium Contenders

    Some wrestlers to watch that are contenders to reach the podium include state champion Alex Cottey, runner-up Cheaney Schoeff, third placer Hayden Watson, and three-time placer David Pierson. Cottey made a deep run last year and will return to 113lbs this year. He will be big at this weight and his extremely physical style will bode well for him. He has had some national success in the past at Fargo so he is no stranger to big event placements.


    Schoeff had a great run last year at the state finals. Look for him to make a deep run in Myrtle Beach at 120lbs. He gave Lemley a great match at IHPO. This could be his breakout national event.


    Watson and Pierson both had great IHPO tournaments. Watson lost a close match in the finals to a top 5 wrestler, while Pierson won a deep weight in…. David Pierson style. Watson is going to be trouble for everyone that he faces with a relentless in your face style. Pierson is a wildcard that can end a match at any time. He will need to string together multiple solid matches in a row to make the podium.


    Others to keep your eyes on

    A couple new faces to Indiana will be interesting to watch. Crown Point will have Javen Estrada in the lineup this year. He was a state qualifier in Illinois last year and had a really good IHPO event. South Carolina state champion Matteo Vargo will be new to Granger this year and is entered at 126lbs. Obviously South Carolina is not a power state so it will be interesting to see him in a field this deep.


    Brownsburg freshman Preston Haines will be another wrestler to watch. He placed 4th at IHPO and could be a contender for a state title this year. Evan Dickey will be back at 106lbs and keeps improving each year. He could be a sleeper at a weight loaded with younger athletes.


    State placers to watch include runner-ups Matthew Koontz and Jujuan Anderson. Third place finishers Logan Frazier, Kysen Montgomery, Jaden Reynolds, and Aiden Warren could be in the mix to make the podium. Reynolds won an IHPO title in September and has had a very good off-season. Montgomery and Frazier are both solid wrestlers that could put together a run of wins to put themselves in a good spot to place. Warren is taking a week off from the gridiron to hit the mats this week. Another wrestler to watch is Gavinn Alstott. He was 4th in 2019 at state, but had a death draw at semi-state this year. Lastly, the other state placers entered include Stephan Roberson Jr., Ian Heath, and Christian White.


    Super 32 History

    Indiana has had 45 placers at the Super 32. The first placer was Camden Eppert in 2008. There have been four champions from Indiana: Blake Rypel(2015), Chad Red(2014), Jarred Brooks(2011), and Ethan Raley(2010). There have been seven runner-ups in the event: Nick South(2018), Lucas Davison(2017), Neal Molloy(2012), Devon Jackson(2011), Jason Tsirtsis(2010), Brandon Wright(2009), and Jason Tsirtsis(2009). There have been six wrestlers place twice, they include Blake Rypel, Brayton Lee, Chad Red, Drew Hughes, Jason Tsirtsis, and Joe Lee.


    To see all the past placers, click here.


    Indiana Entries

    Weight Name School State Place
    106 Evan Dickey Indianapolis Cathedral Qual
    106 Preston Haines Brownsburg  
    113 Alexzander Cottey Perry Meridian 1st
    113 Dylan Driver Westfield Qual
    113 Keaton Morton Perry Meridian  
    120 Logan Frazier Crown Point 3rd
    120 Brac Hooper Carmel Qual
    120 Sergio Lemley Chesterton 1st
    120 Cheaney Schoeff Avon 2nd
    120 Tony Wood Jay County  
    126 Stephen Roberson Jr Crown Point 5th
    126 Zeke Seltzer Indianapolis Cathedral 1st
    126 Matteo Vargo Penn 1st
    132 Gavinn Alstott Floyd Central 4th
    132 Cameron Clark Jay County  
    132 Alecsander Freeman Mater Dei 6th
    132 Kysen Montgomery Brownsburg 3rd
    132 David Pierson Warren Central 4th
    132 Christian White New Palestine 5th
    138 Luke Goodwin Southport 7th
    138 Ian Heath Leo 6th
    138 Matthew Koontz Perry Meridian 2nd
    138 Hayden Watson Center Grove 3rd
    145 Javen Estrada Crown Point Qual
    145 Cody Goodwin Crown Point  
    145 Brady Mckivitz Perry Meridian  
    145 Jaden Reynolds Avon 3rd
    152 Jajuan Anderson Warren Central 2nd
    152 J Conway Floyd Central 6th
    152 Orlando Cruz Crown Point Qual
    160 Trae Anderson Laporte  
    160 Brody Baumann Mater Dei Qual
    160 Tyler Jones Warren Central 7th
    160 Kade Law Columbus East Qual
    160 Jakob Sheets Perry Meridian  
    170 Sam Morrill Columbus East 8th
    182 Johnny Parker Cathedral Qual
    182 Keon Sullivan Warren Central  
    195 Connor Barket West Lafayette Qual
    195 Evan Bates Chesterton 1st
    195 Christian Carroll Penn  
    195 Aiden Warren Perry Meridian 3rd
    220 Joshua Howell Terre Haute South Vigo Qual
    220 Conner Specht Jay County  
    285 Jacob Johnson Franklin Community Qual

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.