Brazilian jiu-jitsu & Wrestling

tHi3RrY

i have been training brazilian jiu-jitsu right now for a while. i am currently 16-0. I have won 6 Champion titles. In Naga and C3 Tournaments. this is my first year wrestling at Michigan City Highschool, i found it very hard ot switch form straight brazilian jiu jitsu everyday to now wrestling and ju ju... Wrestling is so much different. I still find it very hard to switch back and forth. I have problems with falling to into guard and getting into weird postions that would be beneficial in jiu jitsu but not wrestling. my current varsity record is 8-4.. i started late into the season so thats why i have a low number of matches.. i do also train in Muay Thai kickboxing and MMA.. and will be starting my MMA career once i turn 18.. Does anyone else make the transition from jiu jitsu or grappling to wrestling all the time? is it hard for you?

Keep working on the wrestling.  It will finally come together for you.  If you are serious about wrestling, make sure you get a lot of time on the mat.  After the season is over keep doing freestyle, etc.

As for falling into guard, make sure you do the opposite in wrestling.  If you are going to get taken down always go to your stomach.

One thing that will be very difficult for you to get used to in wrestling will be to post a hand, elbow, knee, or foot on the mat. Often in BJJ that will get you in a position for a submission hold whereas in wrestling in will prevent the opponant from scoring. The biggest advantage that wrestling will bring is the control of your hips. This will be very benificial in BJJ from a bottom position and into transitions. Best of luck with both.

• 4 weeks later...