Jump to content
  • 0

Reversal from a standing position.

Go to solution Solved by JoshMed,


I saw this call the other night and it didn't make common sense.  Wrestler A is on top in referee's position.  Wrestler B stands up and A is trying to return him to the mat.  While they are both in standing position, wrestler B gets behind A and the momentum takes them out of bounds. Both wrestlers were standing the whole time. The ref calls 2 reversal.  Is there a different rule for this?  It seems like it would be just an escape

Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
  • Solution

Rule 5-22-1 covers this...


Page 27 Rule 5 Section 22 Art 1
It is a reversal when the defensive wrestler comes from underneath and gains control of his opponent, either on the mat or in a rear-standing position, while all the supporting points of either wrestler are inbounds. (Photos 21-22 on page 65)
thank you,
Josh Medvescek, IHSAA Official
Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.