Jump to content

MackG

Gorillas
  • Content Count

    47
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Reputation Activity

  1. Like
    MackG reacted to Mattyb in Congratulations forum for making it through the season withoug a major class post on class wrestling   
    Until this year my son was a one time state qualifier that got pinned on Friday night. He still got a good number offers from schools from all divisions of college wrestling. Sure high school wrestling helps, but I assure you that coaches look at WAY more than that. Get in the car and go find good kids to beat. Regardless of where you finish at high school state, if you go to a major tourney or a good dual and show out your email and phone will blow up. I assure you that 20 times as many college coaches are at super 32, flonationals, Virginia beach, Fargo, National duals, and even Disney duals. Go there and make a statement. 
    True story.. I took  team to Disney duals this year. My team went out there and warmed up by themselves. It was a nice hard warm up. Very few teams were moving and getting after it like we were. We were not in an All star division mind you. I hade three college coaches before we wrestled come up and give me cards and ask who was uncommitted before we wrestled a match. I has Jalen Comer form Mooresville on my team. I pointed him out to a JUCO coach. The kid was preparing to enter the work force after high school. Long story short he signed with that team! Jaden did get 4th at state. 
    Another one.. Sam Osho from Avon. Sam was committed to go into the military after high school. I asked Sam if he would hold off and keep wrestling and come to Disney duals with the team. He started to go with Mason Miranda to workouts at Marian. The nest thing you know Sam is wrestling at Marian and is a NAIA national qualifier a year later. Sam never made it to state. 
    With all of that said, there are different routes for all of these kids. The way you finish at state is a very small part of the college process. My biggest advice for kids that want to wrestle at the next level is as follows:
    1. Take your ACT or SAT early and often. After you take them get the results and practice taking the test over and over. From the end of your sophomore year on take Khan Academy or other study programs at least 30 mins a day 5 days a week until you score high. A high SAT or ACT can make things very easy for a college to sign you.
    2. Keep you GPA above a 3.5. See above.
    3. Stop putting dumb crap on social media. After grades that is the next thing these guys will check. Be squeaky clean or just delete it all together.
    4. Wrestle as much as possible. Surround yourselves with like minded college prospects and find good competition.   
    5. Reach out to the colleges first. Let them know that you are interested in them. Keep them updated on your career. 
    6. Take your time and ask questions. I assure you that you will know when its right. Look at Osho and Comer. They waited until after school and found spots. 
    7. If you put in the work. Wrestle 24/7/365 and keep improving, there will be an opportunity. Believe in yourself and make it happen. Don't be too proud to ask others to help.  
    BTW.. what about big school wrestlers that have big school studs in front of them in the line up. Our back up 132 just won Indy Nationals. I assure you that he wants to wrestle in college too! I works both ways.
  2. Confused
    MackG reacted to doctorWrestling in Impact freshman   
    I am not telling them what to do, but I don't see how being an undersized 106 is really any different than the freshmen kids who weigh 145 lbs or more who are going to face juniors and seniors all year long if they can make varsity.  They will both take losses because they are freshmen in that case.  You are at least guaranteed to face someone your age or maybe rarely a sophomore at that weight.  
  3. Like
    MackG reacted to gsmith58 in Impact freshman   
    I have exhibit A as to why parents hold their kids back. I have roughly 30+ videos of my 87lb son wrestling 106. Trust me on this one.
  4. Thanks
    MackG got a reaction from Bear62 in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    Again. Not taking anything from Asa... but if anything, that pic proves that the ref was not in position to see if Viduya’s left shoulder/scapula is down, and it suggests that his left side was, in fact, not down.  
     
    Further, the still photo accurately represents the amount of time the ref took to count what was supposed to be a two count. Basically, he took no time at all  because he never verified that both sides were down and there was exactly one second between the time that Viduya was in the position that the pin was called in and the mat was smacked.  In that second, the ref went from being on his feet to smacking the mat.  One second.  The rule is a two count.
     
    Yes, filthy, filthy cradle.  But there is no rule that says if somebody hits a filthy cradle on you that you are automatically pinned.
     
    Wrestling Scholar, we absolutely should be discussing this.  Because the whole point is that kids who work hard all season to make the finals should be protected from errant officiating by a Review Official at the head table.  
     
  5. Like
    MackG got a reaction from BackyardChamp in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    I disagree re: the pic.  Agree on the ref not taking a look.  Should verify position and that two seconds have passed.  Neither happened.
    The angle of the torso is tilted upward to the left side. 
     

  6. Like
    MackG got a reaction from No One Famous in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    I should have prefaced this thread by stating that my intention wasn’t to take anything away from Asa.  I apologize if anyone took it that way.  
    He is clearly a great, great wrestler, and that cradle was a mega eye-popper.  Rooting for him and all the other seniors headed to Bloomington!!  Excited to see that the future will bring!!  Go Hoosiers!!
  7. Thanks
    MackG got a reaction from Bear62 in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    Again. Not taking anything from Asa... but if anything, that pic proves that the ref was not in position to see if Viduya’s left shoulder/scapula is down, and it suggests that his left side was, in fact, not down.  
     
    Further, the still photo accurately represents the amount of time the ref took to count what was supposed to be a two count. Basically, he took no time at all  because he never verified that both sides were down and there was exactly one second between the time that Viduya was in the position that the pin was called in and the mat was smacked.  In that second, the ref went from being on his feet to smacking the mat.  One second.  The rule is a two count.
     
    Yes, filthy, filthy cradle.  But there is no rule that says if somebody hits a filthy cradle on you that you are automatically pinned.
     
    Wrestling Scholar, we absolutely should be discussing this.  Because the whole point is that kids who work hard all season to make the finals should be protected from errant officiating by a Review Official at the head table.  
     
  8. Like
    MackG got a reaction from BackyardChamp in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    I disagree re: the pic.  Agree on the ref not taking a look.  Should verify position and that two seconds have passed.  Neither happened.
    The angle of the torso is tilted upward to the left side. 
     

  9. Thanks
    MackG got a reaction from Bear62 in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    Again. Not taking anything from Asa... but if anything, that pic proves that the ref was not in position to see if Viduya’s left shoulder/scapula is down, and it suggests that his left side was, in fact, not down.  
     
    Further, the still photo accurately represents the amount of time the ref took to count what was supposed to be a two count. Basically, he took no time at all  because he never verified that both sides were down and there was exactly one second between the time that Viduya was in the position that the pin was called in and the mat was smacked.  In that second, the ref went from being on his feet to smacking the mat.  One second.  The rule is a two count.
     
    Yes, filthy, filthy cradle.  But there is no rule that says if somebody hits a filthy cradle on you that you are automatically pinned.
     
    Wrestling Scholar, we absolutely should be discussing this.  Because the whole point is that kids who work hard all season to make the finals should be protected from errant officiating by a Review Official at the head table.  
     
  10. Thanks
    MackG got a reaction from Bear62 in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    Again. Not taking anything from Asa... but if anything, that pic proves that the ref was not in position to see if Viduya’s left shoulder/scapula is down, and it suggests that his left side was, in fact, not down.  
     
    Further, the still photo accurately represents the amount of time the ref took to count what was supposed to be a two count. Basically, he took no time at all  because he never verified that both sides were down and there was exactly one second between the time that Viduya was in the position that the pin was called in and the mat was smacked.  In that second, the ref went from being on his feet to smacking the mat.  One second.  The rule is a two count.
     
    Yes, filthy, filthy cradle.  But there is no rule that says if somebody hits a filthy cradle on you that you are automatically pinned.
     
    Wrestling Scholar, we absolutely should be discussing this.  Because the whole point is that kids who work hard all season to make the finals should be protected from errant officiating by a Review Official at the head table.  
     
  11. Thanks
    MackG got a reaction from Bear62 in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    Again. Not taking anything from Asa... but if anything, that pic proves that the ref was not in position to see if Viduya’s left shoulder/scapula is down, and it suggests that his left side was, in fact, not down.  
     
    Further, the still photo accurately represents the amount of time the ref took to count what was supposed to be a two count. Basically, he took no time at all  because he never verified that both sides were down and there was exactly one second between the time that Viduya was in the position that the pin was called in and the mat was smacked.  In that second, the ref went from being on his feet to smacking the mat.  One second.  The rule is a two count.
     
    Yes, filthy, filthy cradle.  But there is no rule that says if somebody hits a filthy cradle on you that you are automatically pinned.
     
    Wrestling Scholar, we absolutely should be discussing this.  Because the whole point is that kids who work hard all season to make the finals should be protected from errant officiating by a Review Official at the head table.  
     
  12. Like
    MackG got a reaction from No One Famous in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    I should have prefaced this thread by stating that my intention wasn’t to take anything away from Asa.  I apologize if anyone took it that way.  
    He is clearly a great, great wrestler, and that cradle was a mega eye-popper.  Rooting for him and all the other seniors headed to Bloomington!!  Excited to see that the future will bring!!  Go Hoosiers!!
  13. Like
    MackG got a reaction from No One Famous in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    I should have prefaced this thread by stating that my intention wasn’t to take anything away from Asa.  I apologize if anyone took it that way.  
    He is clearly a great, great wrestler, and that cradle was a mega eye-popper.  Rooting for him and all the other seniors headed to Bloomington!!  Excited to see that the future will bring!!  Go Hoosiers!!
  14. Like
    MackG got a reaction from Sgyorks in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    When I asked “was the ref in position?”... I meant did he see the scapulas on the mat for two seconds?   Which is the rule. 
     
    Watching the video on Track....  :49 cradle is in position the pin was called in and the ref is up on his feet... by the time :48 hits the clock he is smacking the mat.  Assuming he had full view even if he saw it when he was up on his feet, it still couldn’t have been a two count.
     
    And when they release, you can see vidyua’s left shoulder was on top of garcia’s chest. 
     
    This is the type of call that needs to be reviewed, imho
  15. Like
    MackG got a reaction from ontherise219 in Impact freshman   
    Cheaney Schoeff
  16. Like
    MackG reacted to piscis1956 in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    Again, I don’t know the ref or how he calls pins.  But to be blunt, if any ref calls a pin in high school without waiting for two full continuous seconds, then he is, quite frankly, breaking the rules he is being paid to enforce.  Consistently wrong is still wrong.
  17. Like
    MackG got a reaction from Sgyorks in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    When I asked “was the ref in position?”... I meant did he see the scapulas on the mat for two seconds?   Which is the rule. 
     
    Watching the video on Track....  :49 cradle is in position the pin was called in and the ref is up on his feet... by the time :48 hits the clock he is smacking the mat.  Assuming he had full view even if he saw it when he was up on his feet, it still couldn’t have been a two count.
     
    And when they release, you can see vidyua’s left shoulder was on top of garcia’s chest. 
     
    This is the type of call that needs to be reviewed, imho
  18. Like
    MackG got a reaction from Sgyorks in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    When I asked “was the ref in position?”... I meant did he see the scapulas on the mat for two seconds?   Which is the rule. 
     
    Watching the video on Track....  :49 cradle is in position the pin was called in and the ref is up on his feet... by the time :48 hits the clock he is smacking the mat.  Assuming he had full view even if he saw it when he was up on his feet, it still couldn’t have been a two count.
     
    And when they release, you can see vidyua’s left shoulder was on top of garcia’s chest. 
     
    This is the type of call that needs to be reviewed, imho
  19. Like
    MackG got a reaction from ontherise219 in Impact freshman   
    Cheaney Schoeff
  20. Like
    MackG got a reaction from ontherise219 in Impact freshman   
    Cheaney Schoeff
  21. Like
    MackG got a reaction from Swamp Dad in Cooper Noehre v Elliott Rodgers - MISSED FALL   
    Well I guess if you thought Viduya was pinned you’d maybe think that Rodgers was pinned here. 
     
    Correct me if I am wrong, but a pin is shoulders/scapulae down for 2 seconds. Touch pin is freestyle, not folkstyle. 
    Am I wrong about this?
  22. Like
    MackG got a reaction from Sgyorks in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    When I asked “was the ref in position?”... I meant did he see the scapulas on the mat for two seconds?   Which is the rule. 
     
    Watching the video on Track....  :49 cradle is in position the pin was called in and the ref is up on his feet... by the time :48 hits the clock he is smacking the mat.  Assuming he had full view even if he saw it when he was up on his feet, it still couldn’t have been a two count.
     
    And when they release, you can see vidyua’s left shoulder was on top of garcia’s chest. 
     
    This is the type of call that needs to be reviewed, imho
  23. Like
    MackG got a reaction from Sgyorks in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    When I asked “was the ref in position?”... I meant did he see the scapulas on the mat for two seconds?   Which is the rule. 
     
    Watching the video on Track....  :49 cradle is in position the pin was called in and the ref is up on his feet... by the time :48 hits the clock he is smacking the mat.  Assuming he had full view even if he saw it when he was up on his feet, it still couldn’t have been a two count.
     
    And when they release, you can see vidyua’s left shoulder was on top of garcia’s chest. 
     
    This is the type of call that needs to be reviewed, imho
  24. Like
    MackG got a reaction from Sgyorks in Did not look like Viduya was pinned....   
    When I asked “was the ref in position?”... I meant did he see the scapulas on the mat for two seconds?   Which is the rule. 
     
    Watching the video on Track....  :49 cradle is in position the pin was called in and the ref is up on his feet... by the time :48 hits the clock he is smacking the mat.  Assuming he had full view even if he saw it when he was up on his feet, it still couldn’t have been a two count.
     
    And when they release, you can see vidyua’s left shoulder was on top of garcia’s chest. 
     
    This is the type of call that needs to be reviewed, imho
  25. Haha
    MackG reacted to Washedup141 in Carson Brewer   
    That samich produced 4 state champs as he gave Rodgers, slivka, and south all bites. I gotta get me one. 
×

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.