Jump to content

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 10/10/2014 in all areas

  1. 40 points
    ZachsDad

    Zach Melloh Family

    Dear 138 pound weight class at state finals, Congrats to all of you, lots of fierce competitors, and you should all be proud! Wrestling is the ultimate teacher of life lessons, so learn what you can from your experience! Kris Rumph You are a great wrestler and competitor and your interview showed some great character. You have overcome a lot in life and I hope you understand that your wrestling achievements can transfer to anything you chose to pursue in life. The Melloh family will look forward to seeing good things for you in the future, and will say a special prayer for Kris Rumph today at church. Looking forward to rooting for you, not against you! Blake Mulkey You are an awesome wrestler. Blake, you have a great wrestling future, and we wish you the best. Sometimes things don’t go your way, it will make you stronger if you let it. Dawson Combest We wish you the best at Uindy. It truly seems like yesterday that you and Zach were battling it out for ISWA state finals. I miss those days already. Uindy is getting a good one and we know you will do great in wrestling and school. Count your blessings son, you have an awesome support group with Columbus East wrestling family! That’s a good group! I will always hold Coach Trapp in high regard..... I saw how much he did for you guys with the youth program. What a great guy and mentor! Lastly, to my son, Zach Melloh With tears of pride, I want to tell you that I love you and I am so proud of you. My sadness only comes from knowing this chapter is over. I didn’t appreciate the ride like I should have while I was living it.......through wrestling, you have helped us grow as a family and expand our faith. So few people know what you have been through to get to where you were yesterday. But God does and your family does, and we are proud to call you our son and your siblings are proud of their brother. Part of trying to live a Christ centered life means that sometimes the target on your back gets bigger. It’s ok, keep fighting the good fight. Keep grinding and doing the right things in life. With a heart full of pride for the young man you have become, looking forward to the next chapter. Your biggest fan club, Dad, Mom, Corinne, Alex, and Cecelia (Nick Melloh)
  2. 36 points
    decbell1

    Things we often overlook

    Friday night at Maconaquah was filled with some great action and a lot of young ladies putting themselves on the line, but I wanted to share with all of you a photo I took that really hit me. Heritage High School hasn't (according to IndianaMat results) won a dual meet in the last four years and they are 0-47 in that time. But every time I see coaches Lockett and Martin, I am impressed at the way they run their program. They are full of energy and passion for their kids. I have seen it at home dual meets, at the ACAC duals and I saw it on Friday night. Heritage had one girl wrestling. One girl. Yet the entire team (almost, I think) and both coaches were in attendance and coaching their hearts out and laughing with their kids. This made a huge impression on me and I will be rooting for the Patriots the rest of the year. The whole team spent six hours in a gym to watch Amber Hoy wrestle four matches. Kudos to the Heritage team and to both coaches for the role they are playing in their program and congrats to Amber Hoy on her placement Friday night.
  3. 35 points
    Sydokun

    Thank you Indiana

    Just wanted to take a second and say Thank you to all the supporters Brayden has had though the years. We new jumping up in weight this year would be a risk, but Brayden has never been one to back down from a challenge. No complaints or excuses 7th, 1st, 1st and 4th plus being one of the smallest in 126 he did a great job and as his father could not ask for anything more. We will be looking to the future and getting a great education thanks to this sport and who knows maybe an NAIA National title along the way. Congrats to everyone that won and those that did not keep working hard and you just might find yourself under the lights. To all the Seniors it's been one hell of a journey. Most of you we have wrestled with or against since elementary and though those battles made some great friends or dare i say family. Again Thank you Indiana for giving my son a sport with the best fans and competitors. The Curtis Family
  4. 33 points
    Kookie953

    Confession Time

    So time to take a quick break and provide a distraction to the loaded regional and SS talk. My son is new to the sport...it was a little over a year ago that he decided he wanted to give wrestling a try. Something about watching kids under the lights at Bankers Life in 2015 provided that spark. So as a 5th grader he started on his journey. After a bit of research, we learned about Red Cobra and he’s been in that sweat box ever since...and most nights I’m also spending a few hours listening to Coach Red bark instructions to all the kids. Now true confession time...I never wreslted myself and frankly thought wrestlers were an odd bunch growing up. One dude I knew in Junior High covered his singlet in deer attractant as an “advantage”. Another kid claimed to rub onions on his pits and “area”. I was a basketball player and that was my love...I wasn’t tough enough to wrestle even though I considered myself a tough guy. So needless to say, I knew next to nothing when my kid started and know just a tiny bit more now. More recent confession, during our first few meets man some parents were going insane during a match while I just saw some kids leaning on each other. My inner monologue said “dude, what’s those people’s issue? They’re some real nut-jobs.” Fast forward to today, and a solid year of Coach Red training has not only helped my kid but also his old man that’s been sweating profusely on the other side of the partition while Coach Red instructs like only he can. What I didnt know is that I was getting C-Red Trained too. Now I find myself automatically and instinctively barking stuff like “Get Your HEAD UP!!!” And “UP AND OUT!!!” Or “GET THAT TIGHT AND SQUUUEEEEZE!!!” Or “God gave you two hands SO USE THEM!!” Its like I can’t control it. So to all you parents before that I was secretly being real judgey towards in my head, because y’all were losing your minds (or so I thought)...my bad. To all you beginner parents wondering why the big dude in purple is losing his mind in the future....you’ll get it one day. One thing I’ve learned while my boy has really embraced and taken to this sport and the process...if you’re the parent of one of these high schoolers that’s putting it all out there in the coming weeks, then really be proud of it and where you are. Make sure to take a moment and take it in. Be proud they’re there regardless of outcome. Unlike any other, wrestling is an awesome sport that requires some real courage to even walk out there on that mat. Sometimes it takes the eyes of a newbie to bring the obvious into focus. Good luck to all competitors and teams as each step gets a little tougher. I’m glad I’m here...and I’m glad my son has chosen to be a wrestler. <Pound Sign>HendricksCountySmellsFunny #PainTrain #PoundSign
  5. 32 points
    First off I want to let everyone know I usually do not read threads on here and I just now signed up to be able to post because it sickens me to see these “likes” and comments! While I do not condone the issue of using plastics, I also do not know the full story on what recently took place at Carmel High School, nor do any of you! It makes me sad that I see such negative comments towards my high school coach, knowing he has done SO much for many programs and for the state of Indiana. I am not going to sit here and tell you that I have agreed with everything Coach P has done, there have been times we haven’t seen things eye to eye.....But I am not going to forget everything else he stands for and the many improvements he has brought to the wrestling community in Indiana. Nobody is perfect! We all make mistakes, some more public than others. It saddens me to see so many people that have reaped the benefits of his presence in wrestling get on this thread and bash him and “like” derogatory comments about him. Coaching isn’t easy and dealing with most parents does NOT make it fun. One of the fundamental rules I live my life by is “never kick a man when he is down”. I will put aside my thoughts and opinions and I CHOOSE to reach out and anyone who is down I try to help them rise again and become better! One bad decision does not define you!!! It is when you are down you will find your true friends, I am here for P. Writing thoughtless posts on message boards while hiding behind a keyboard is also a great way to burn bridges ..... something else I try very hard never to do! Leroy Vega
  6. 32 points
    coachnabb

    3A Team State

    As the Ben Davis guy who has been around a long, long time I will try to give you a couple. Don't get me wrong, they sound like excuses and I don't like excuses much. And, none of this is personal, hopefully my comments aren't construed as being a shot at anyone. Some comments i won't make in this forum as it isn't the right forum. However, there is my list, top of my head. 1. Resources - many programs develop talent by charging their kids $ every month or kids go to a "pay to play" facility like CIA, Red Cobra, Contenders, etc... In a lot of cases, we have kids who can't afford shoes, the sport fee or don't even know where they are staying tonight. Now, add on the cost of a USA card, tournaments, etc... and that is money our families need to spend elsewhere. Sure, we fund raise, but you can't cover costs for 50+ kids in a youth program to develop them in wrestling the way we would like. By the way, very few of our kids have a great support system. I can't imagine, as a 16 year old kid trying to cut weight, get to a Saturday practice, pay for a sport fee, new shoes, etc... without any parental support 2. All of the BD families from my era and later have moved to Avon, Brownsburg, Plainfield, Danvile, etc... i.. And, no families move into Ben Davis. Everyone is heading out West over the last 15 years, ncluding my family. I know I have coached a dozen or so kids in Junior High that have gone on to be successful at the state level in other programs. Good for those families for getting themselves into what they see as better situations personally. 3. I think BD has a remarkable amount of kids that start as Sophomores and Juniors. Sounds great to have bodies in the room, but wrestling in the MIC, Marion County and the same Sectional as Avon (you), Brownsburg and Plainfield - 90- percent of the time these kids just can't compete with someone who has had 4+ years of experience get frustrated and quit. And, how hard is it to sell this story "If you bust your butt, give everything you can you might win half of your matches" and "to be the most competitive you can, you need to learn how to eat right and maybe watch what you eat a little". They can't because they don't have quality food in the house. 4. The sport has no "middle class" anymore, there are elite wrestlers and everyone else. We all know the sport is hard - if you are getting beat up all the time it isn't fun, if it isn't fun you quit (unless you are an idiot like me and wired differently). We have a lot of great kids in this state who do well nationally. So, I am a 3rd year kid who has grown up wrestling some of the many studs on the WestSide and Marion County and I get pounded every time, I get discouraged. I get discouraged and just don't love the sport the way I need to love it to get better - I could have been a good wrestler, not elite, but good, maybe a Semi-State or even a State qualifier, but I can't get out of sectionals. I tihnk it was 2 years ago at the Avon Sectional at 106, 3 of those kids placed in the top 7 at state and I believe 3 others from MIC and Marion County placed as well. 5. I can keep going, but will conclude with this... I would rather build better young men (as I am sure we all do). It has taken me a while to admit that winning isn't as important to me as making someone successful at life (and this statement in no way makes me think that the previous 2 statements are exclusive, I am a better person, employee, boss, etc.... for being a wrestler). At some point, we are trying to get kids to graduate because we are now their parents. I could throw in a bunch of stats, but they don't change the situation. I would love to be singled out in a post about our wrestling, not the lack of our wrestling, but that isn't where we are at right now. Don't misinterpret any of this, I want to beat everyone. I don't want to lose. but, spend a few months inside the program and you will see it isn't just a numbers game. For better or worse, I am BD wrestling - as are a group of guys that I am proud to coach along side who also fight the daily battle to keep this program together and moving forward. Brett Nabb BD 1987 and 20 years coaching wrestling in Wayne Township
  7. 28 points
    Jim calhoun

    Character counts

    Let me first say I in no way am putting down anybody in particular or acting like I’m the role model cause I’m the furthest from perfect, but I really think coaches need to take a step back and look in the mirror and realize our wrestlers watch our lives more than they listen to our words. I’ve been blessed at Plymouth to coach with coaches that in many years have impacted hundreds of lives. I’ve never heard a foul word out of their mouth nor is any wrestler aloud to use profanity. Their goal is always create young men of integrity first and champions in life then champions on the mat. I’m amazed when I see and hear coaches and athletes cuss back and forth.....see wrestlers yell at refs.....throw things in anger and nothing is done. On a positive I’ve watched people I respect and look up to like coach Snyder get in wrestlers faces yet put his arm around them and build them up....coach Harper from little kids to high schoolers speak life into his kids yet in their face. I don’t know a man in the world that loves winning more than coach Read or a man that hates to lose more than him but you ask anyone that’s gone through his program in 30 plus years and you will hear nothing but the utmost respect because of the integrity he walks in. Coaches your integrity is the most 8mportant part of your job with the kids we have in front of us. Impact lives. As our coach always says....”Do the right thing simply because it’s the right thing to do”. Your reputation is what others think of you but your character is what people see and you really are. It’s time coaches we lead from the front!
  8. 27 points
    Wrestlingfanatic

    Justice Cash

    This is Justice Cash and after losing 4 times at semi-state I am coming on here to share the story that I never was able to share after winning a state title... The dog tag in the picture has been in my shoe for every wrestling match since Amante Young's death... He was a brother to me and there was nothing I wanted to do more than win a state title for him and his memory. He died tragically in a car crash a few months after winning a state title in Michigan. For those who knew Amante you would know he was one of the sweetest, joyful, and kind hearted people you've ever met. He was always smiling and brought so much joy to others, he always had my back, and he always wanted to make himself better. His home life was never amazing but he still was always trying to make money to give gifts to his whole family during holidays and other occasions even knowing he wouldn't be getting any from his parents at times. He always wanted to help people and he never acted like he was bound to be unsuccessful because of his home life, he found ways to make himself better and others around him better. I could go on and on about how amazing Amante was as a person and a wrestler and about how much he meant to me and so many others, but here is the end and the end of my high school career. I would be so grateful if anyone who reads this would mention his name in my place after winning a state title this year because I have failed to make it there for him myself... Thank you...
  9. 25 points
    Darrick Snyder

    Melloh and Mulkey

    1.) Congrats to Cathedral. I’m not sure anyone who hasn’t been through it truly understands how hard it is to win an Individual State Title let alone a Team State Championship. 2.) I didn’t cuss or anything like that. I was booted and deserved to be because I left the mat and came back screaming again. I was told that by Mr. Faulkens. 3.) I know I shouldn’t have come back on the mat. Thanks to him for allowing me to stay in back of venue. I lost it and would hope I could keep my compusure in the future. I’ve never been tossed out before that I remember. I deserved it. I’ve already told my assistants to pull me from the mat. I don’t see this situation repeating itself, though 4.) I am not ever going to sacrifice a kid’s dream of a state title. Brayton Lee is the ONLY kid I have ever coached that I told I must have bonus points from at Individual State. Probably the first and last. He’s special. I never worried about my actions causing a team title. We are a family here. I was able to meet with my team since Mr. Faulkens allowed me To stay in the venue. I told them I was sorry I was unable to corner them. (FYI I don’t corner BLee. Ayersman negotiated that.) Lol. Immediately, Nathan Walton said, “Coach you have prepared us and we would want you to do the same thing for each of us.” 5.) I was out of control and returned to the mat after waking off. That equals getting tossed. I have no issue with it. Most people hate me. That fuels me and our program. I have enough friends and I’m not looking to win a popularity contest. As long as the Mishawaka And Brownsburg Wrestlers and fans love me that’s what I care about. Talk to them. I have 100% administrative support here, which I have never had before. 6.) Why did I lose it even though i shouldn’t have? It is NOT an opinion or judgement call. In the casebook - look it up - it literally says the front-headlock position is a stalemate. It’s cut and dry. Not debatable. It was the wrong call. Period. Doesn’t matter if we were snapping or trying to score. Makes no difference. Says stalemate. Watch the film. Blake is my guy. He is facing me in 30 second OT. Im snapping to mat. He does exactly what I tell him to do. I know the rules. Then, it costs him a chance for his state title. I care about my wrestlers. Our system is messed up. I could not care less about a team title then. I care about Blake and his goal. If he and they win, we win. 7.) It is what it is. Cathedral was freaking impressive. Blake’s opponent is a stud and seems like an outstanding young man. Just like Blake. I probably shouldn’t post, but I will. Discussing wrestling I think is good for our sport and my thoughts are always open for anyone. Snyder
  10. 23 points
    Perseverance

    Deserving Acknowledgments

    On behalf of Silas, myself and the rest of our family....we want to bring awareness to how accommodating the IHSAA was for us this weekend. All of us (including myself) at times get so caught up in what we feel they do wrong as it pertains to wrestling, we can easily become blinded to the multitude of right they do. Mr. Faulkens seen to it we had All-Access passes, and we’re allowed in our regular seats at our convenience. That type of gesture deserves a lot of credit. Because in what is always an extremely exhausting weekend.....factoring my health, my wife having to carry my breathing machine and our youngest daughter, without their philanthropic gesture, this weekend would not have been possible for me. I also want to commend Jacob Laplace and the Mishawaka Coaching staff. They had a tremendous gameplan of counter wrestling by the edge of mat to slow Silas’ relentless pace. We have been friends and thought a lot of Jacob and family going all the way back to 6th grade. He and Silas were always summer teammates with the Outlaws and forged a bond that continues to this day. Wrestling Family can be an equal bond as blood at times, because there’s such an understanding of the sacrifice involved for wrestlers, coaches and parents. We have a lot of genuine love for many of the Caveman faithful. Specifically the Sandefur’s, Fogarty’s, Walker’s and of course the Laplace family. I’m extremely proud of Jacob’s effort. He wrestled Silas as well as ANYONE has the last 2 yrs. But more importantly....I’m proud of Jacob as a young man of faith. Indiana Tech stole a diamond in the ruff recruit! But Coach Pompei will undoubtedly help grow his solid foundation to achieve tremendous things at the next level. -The Allred’s
  11. 23 points
    Badger

    Great wrestler

    I just wanted to recognize a great wrestler with great sportsmanship. Jed Levitz from Prairie Heights. He fell short of going back to state for a 3rd time. After his lost he was a class act, handling it like a true champion,shaking hands and congratulating the other wrestler 2 times. A great example of what wrestling and a great coaching staff has taught this young man. Congratulations on a awesome high school wrestling career.
  12. 21 points
    grappleapple

    Three years and one day ago...

    Rickie Clark and Robert Samuels put on the best consolation match spectacle in Indiana wrestling history.
  13. 21 points
    Matthew Nelson

    Hoosier boys Super 32

    Im super proud of our Indiana Boys. I watched most matches and followed kids that I didnt know before this tournament, as High School is a new atmosphere for us. I saw everyone of these kids wrestle their Butts off, and they gave the competition the full fight. I dont think any of them under performed. They left it all on the mat every time, and I was extremely impressed with the heart they all have. Indiana is on the map. They may not have accomplished their dreams this time, but they are on the right path. Everyone of them should be proud of the way they wrestled. We should all praise them for the sacrifices and dedication they gave to fight at the Super 32. After watching these kids wrestle this weekend, I cannot wait to watch each and everyone of them this season. I am rooting for them all. From up North all they way to down south, I am proud to be a Hoosier. Hats off to our Hoosier boys.
  14. 21 points
    What a great article on Warsaw's Jacob Bass who qualified for semi-state this weekend. http://www.inkfreenews.com/2019/02/08/once-a-slave-warsaws-jacob-bass-celebrates-freedom-through-wrestling/
  15. 20 points
    Mattyb

    Jesse Mendez Loss

    If I remember right, he bumped up a weight to try to win one for his team. Because... that’s what true champs do. He put his career undefeated record on the line for his team. Came up just short. That’s why the kid is even more awesome!
  16. 20 points
    I had to share this. We have a young guy in our club who is deaf. I remind our guys often that RJ probably is the toughest guy in our room. Last year was his first practice ever. First time in a wrestling room. He was in first grade and cannot hear or speak. I could only imagine how difficult that had to be for him as we watched him go through his first couple of practices. One year later, RJ is always the first guy in the room at practice. He is usually the last guy to leave. You can see that wrestling is something that RJ and his dad truly enjoy. Yesterday dad was sending us pictures of him and RJ watching the finals on TV. This morning he sent the collage of RJ in front of the TV with guys that have been in our room this past year. At some of our camps, we let dad know which guys have great resumes and should do quite well in the upcoming HS Season. RJ and his dad were excited to get pictures with the, and all the guys were great with RJ, even though it's not the easiest to communicate with him. After I saw the picture it made me think of Spiderman's phrase. With great power comes great responsibilities. Congrats to all of this year's state champs. I do want to thank the guys that were in our room and took just a few minutes to interact with RJ. To be honest, I had forgot all about those champs that were around in the past year.......but RJ and his father didn't! They will remember forever!
  17. 20 points
    Brian

    Most to Semi-State?

    No, it's just one day.
  18. 19 points
    This is a very tricky question (thread) to reply to. In my humble opinion I don't know that there is a correct answer to the originally stated question. There are so many factors that go into competing at all collegiate levels. Does it count if a wrestler started DI and then transferred or stepped away from the sport after a year or two? One could respectfully debate the fact that some wrestlers take non-traditional paths into their college experiences now days. Additionally, many wrestlers arrive at their college choice only to find that it wasn't what they expected; or the coach who recruited them has now taken a different job; or academics trip them up; or an injury derails their college wrestling experience. There are numerous factors that play out as an 18 year-old embarks on a college wrestling journey. There can be many pitfalls along the way... as is there can be many rewards to be had if a little grit is demonstrated. With athlete retention in mind I believe more wrestlers (and their parents) could do a better job of 1)researching a variety of schools before making a final selection; 2)working on their time management skills in MS and HS to better ensure "life success" in college; and 3)realizing that wrestling at any collegiate level is very grueling. As they say... "it's a job." You have to love the sport, be willing to navigate set-backs, and have the ability to keep your eye on the ball. In getting back to the original topic, DI wrestling isn't for everyone. It is absolutely best-practice for an athlete (and his/her parents) to be realistic in what level of collegiate wrestling they want to take part in. A productive and fulfilling wrestling experience can be had at all collegiate levels depending on what the student-athlete is after. As a reminder... it is college... so some level of academic achievement should be placed into the equation. A wrestler at a DIII college studying pre-med is obviously a different situation than a wrestler navigating the rigors of a Big Ten program and schedule. Two different scenarios... two different goals in mind... both are to be applauded. I tip my hat to any young man or young lady that finishes 4+ years of collegiate wrestling at any level and walks away with memories, achievements, and a college degree.
  19. 19 points
    Hornet Coach

    Sportsmaniship

    I would just like to give credit to the young men and coaches for carrying yourselves like champions win or lose this weekend. The overwhelming majority showed great sportsmanship and respect for their competitors no matter the match outcome. There are a lot of people that want to point out the negative, but I think it's important that we take a minute and point out the positive, as well. Way to represent your school, your wrestling program, your coaches, and your family! These young men have put a lot of time, sweat, and tears (and certainly a lot of blood) into this and when you don't get the outcome you desire, it is tough to control your emotions. These life lessons are far more important than any win or loss. Well done to the competitors and well done to the coaching staffs.
  20. 18 points
    Welchtwin2

    History of #1 vs #1

    Back in 2011, Doug Welch (152) would beat up on Chad Welch (160) everyday in practice.
  21. 17 points
    Cael McCormick

    Thank You

    Indiana Wrestling Family, Thank you all for the amazing support throughout my 18-year career. I especially want to thank my parents, coaches, teammates, and mentors from around the state. I appreciate the sacrifices you made to help me reach my goals. Thank you to the Yorktown Wrestling family for developing me and my fellow Tigers. It is amazing to watch old teammates’ success at the collegiate level. Also, thank you to the administrators, officials, board members, and moderators (ISWA, IHSWCA, IndianaMat, etc.) for promoting Indiana wrestling. Thank you to the Army Wrestling program. I have lifelong friends, coaches, and mentors that elevated my game to the national stage. Thank you to anyone I missed in this message. There are so many amazing people from around the state, you all are incredible! BHAW, Cael McCormick Yorktown ‘16 USMA ‘20
  22. 17 points
    So my brother was a pretty good wrestler. 4x State placer, 3x state champ. I watched him wrestle at state his freshman year place 7th. Got to see every match of his that year. The next year I decided to sign a dotted line and joined the military. During his first state championship he beat a pretty good kid, named Eric Galka, I was in basic training and missed the match. During his second championship run, he beat another good kid, Anthony Quiroz, I was in Iraq at the time and didn’t see it in person. So during his senior year I made it a point to go see every match of his, near or far. He was going for his third state title, and 4x time state placer. Become the first Portage wrestler to ever do both feats. Still in the military I had something going on Saturday morning at state, got to see his Friday night match, but missed the quarters match. Sean didn’t have one point scored against him, he didn’t let anyone up, no escapes, nothing. Pure domination. Coach Wilkins who was the head coach at the time got me a coaches pass so I could go down with Sean, watch him warm up before the finals match, and be right there when he came off the match. He told me that one was for me. I finally got to see my brother win a state while I was standing by the warm up mat they have set up. By far one of my favorite memories I’ve ever had at state.
  23. 17 points
    I'm pretty sure I've posted this idea on here before, but here it is again... Let's start with some IHSAA philosophies, since they are the ones ultimately making the decision. Bobby Cox and company don't like "wrestlebacks" so this is something different. They are used to the one-and-done postseasons of football and basketball and have asked the wrestling coaches how many times someone should be allowed to lose and still move on. Our answer should be 2 - double elimination. The IHSAA views all 4 weeks as one big tournament. So, make the whole thing as close to double elimination as possible, like every other wrestling tournament in the world. That means we should guarantee that someone has lost twice in the tournament series or lost once to someone who has already lost twice (i.e., 4 over 1). Right now, there are 2 times when this does not happen. One is the pigtail round of Sectionals, which should be fixed by not pairing unseeded wrestlers against the top seeds. The only other spot that happens is the ticket round of Semi State, where an undefeated postseason wrestler can lose to someone with 1 postseason loss. That's what this solution will fix. The IHSAA also doesn't believe in upsets. They believe whoever wins must be the better wrestler. We cannot use any upsets as examples, because in their minds upsets do not happen. But if we can show them the fundamental flaw in their system that can be easily fixed with minimal effort, it has a much better chance of passing. And finally, the IHSAA likes to make more money and loves it's own ideas. This fix appeals to both of those philosophies, as well. And now for the idea... Qualify the top 5 out of each Semi State. Several years ago, the IHSAA had one year when they added matches to 5th place, but it was only for team score purposes. We bring back the IHSAA's own idea, so the ticket round losers pair up at the same time as the semifinals, and those winners wrestle for 5th at the same time as the 1st and 3rd place matches (like they do on Saturday of State). If your SemiState ran the semis on 2 mats, then this would take no extra time. If your SemiState ran the semis on 4 mats, then this would add about 45 minutes to the tournament. This year, New Castle was done around 6pm with 10 minute breaks between rounds and a 30+ minute lunch break. State will then have 20 per weight class, which will be more fans/money for the IHSAA without watering down the state tournament. Pair up the 4's versus 5's for an opening round on Friday night before the usual first round. Banker's Life can easily hold 6 mats to actually make Friday night go quicker. Details about the 20-man state bracket can be worked out later, but there would definitely be some exciting 4v5 and 5v1 matches on Friday night. Again, these would not be "wrestlebacks" - they are 5th place matches. They are not meant to give kids who lost (or got upset or had a bad match) an extra chance. This just fixes a systemic flaw in the "double elimination" of the tournament series overall. If the Coaches' Association proposes it like this, it would have a better chance of being approved by the IHSAA. A couple of additional benefits to this would be having a true alternate (6th place finisher) and more accurate team scores.
  24. 17 points
    I know I'll get pelted with empties from any poster that starts with "SW" and I respect Mr. Goebel (sic) immensely, but maybe it's time to put a third guy on the show? And might I recommend @ontherise219 for that position? Now hear me out.... How many times last night did he mention "I'm not familiar with that wrestler..." or "IndianaMat ranks him...". Well, the actual ranker does some media stuff for the actual sight that does the rankings oft quoted, and since he does the rankings pretty well it appears, he does seem to know a bit about most/all the wrestlers and not just the ones at the E'ville SS. Again, nothing personal, and as far as the actual call of the finals matches goes I think Mr. Goebel is great and knows his stuff and adds insight, but for a parings show I'd just like to hear a bit more insight/matchups etc and think OTR could provide that. Of course the hour and fifteen minute time frame might be tough but he wouldn't have @Y2CJ41 to throw him off topic. Like I said, unpopular opinion.. but outside of the ESS dudes there just didn't seem to be much insight or info put out there except "that should be a good quarter bracket". There...I said it. I'll delete my acct now.
  25. 17 points
    aoberlin

    It’s Time

    Nope. Just have wrestlebacks and our system is perfect. Division individual State Champs are lame. If you want more kids to wrestle act like it is a business and have some charisma and sell it. Class wrestling only adds water.
  26. 17 points
    Thanks to everyone involved in Indiana wrestling for providing a great competitive environment. I have enjoyed high school wrestling very much and have improved my skills over the past 3 years by competing with the best. My family and I are moving to Baton Rouge, Louisiana at the end of July and I will be wrestling there my senior year. Thanks to my coaches for preparing me for success on and off the mat, especially Coaches Brad Harper, Chad Hershberger, and Taylor Hart and the many volunteer coaches involved in making Penn wrestling such a great program. Thanks also to some of the great wrestlers I have had the honor to wrestle, especially Trevor Penrod, Brayden Lowery, Jacob Moran, Jose Diaz, and all the other great competitors who kept me “on my toes” so to speak. I look forward to keeping up with all of you next year as I continue to strive to reach my own personal goals. Good luck next season.
  27. 17 points
    I just want to thank Joe and all the other people that put the time and effort to bring this event to Indiana and give our state the publicity it deserves on a National level. All of our wrestlers were very impressive and put up a great fight against the top kids in the country (win or lose). I appreciate Team USA coming to Indiana with a "nothing to gain, but everything to lose" situation. Ty was able to capitalize and take out his opponent and has gotten a flood of national publicity. Without all the work that was put into this, he would have not had this opportunity. We found out yesterday that he was named the National High School Wrestler of the Week by TheOpenMat. https://news.theopenmat.com/blog/2018/04/16/adidas-high-school-wrestler-week-apr-16th-2018/
  28. 17 points
    Perseverance

    Worst draw

    Great point Jeremy. It aligns with Silas and I's philosophy to a "T". Being fairly new to the sport of wrestling compared to many on this site (7yrs). I would grow a little more perturbed every year as I would hear parents/coaches/wrestlers complaining about draws, or hoping they had an easy road through. I can tell you this......that was rarely an issue with the Doah coaches. Slivka, Gary Jr & Sr each had a "bring it on mentality". Being cut from that similar cloth, is a major factor of our growing so close off the mat as well. I'll only add that Coach Barbosa has carried on that same approach. It comes natural for him being from the south side of Muncie. ? Assistant Coach Walker is no different. The Allred outlook is simple......Those who worry about the draw are entertaining fear & self doubt. Hoping for an easy path is reserved for individuals whose bartering for podium spots. Not for those whose goal is its peak. Cressel & Walton are both very deserving of all the recognition and success they've worked so hard for. They're well coached and their college commitments speak for themselves. However.....these are matches we've wanted all season. But we'll focus on beating Moore Friday night first. Bottom line......We love the draw. Awesome opportunity to make a LOUD statement! And they'll be dealing with a hungry youngster whose well prepared, well studied, unafraid to lose.....and wrestling free with no pressure. The best 182lb'er in the State will stand on top of the podium this weekend regardless of their bracket pairings. And it could be any 1 of 16 young men in the bracket. We genuinely wish everyone competing a great week of practice, continued good health and to just enjoy the moment. Go to war, have fun and score points. Never lose sight of how much of a blessing it is to be there.
  29. 17 points
    Y2CJ41

    Happy First Day of Wrestling Season!

    I hope everyone has a healthy and undefeated wrestling season. Good luck everyone and enjoy the season on the mats from whatever vantage point you have.
  30. 16 points
    Mattyb

    ‘19 champs vs ‘20

    Slivka is one of the best big match wrestlers in Indiana history. He had wins over multiple top ranked high schoolers last year. And has beaten more of those guys this year. He just gets the job done. Slivka is a hammer on top and underrated on his feet. I’m unaware of any national ranked kids that Dickens has beat. Slivka has beaten a handful. With that said, that’s the reason that Slivka gets my nod. I’m using logic and facts. EMD fans are pumped for their guy. As they should be. Again, silly debate but a fun one. Obviously the Dickens win is fresh and 90 percent of EMD fans will give Dickens the nod. It is what it is. With all of that said, most posters on here have never won a title and will never have family member win a title. They will never know the joy or help put the work in to win a title. So.. when you get on here and say a KID will smoke another KID, it is kinda insulting to a family that actually put in the work, took the kid to privates, took the kid to academy, took the kid all over the USA, the money that was spent, the sleep that was missed, the days of work missed, the tudors that were payed for, getting up at 5:00am to help the kid work out and meal prep, the “vacation” time that was spent in the middle of Iowa. So before you go off running your mouth behind your anonymous screen name, be considerate of what people went through and know that they are prideful. Make your logical picks or homer picks, but you need to be respectful of other people’s sacrifices. Calm down cowboys. Just my two cents.
  31. 16 points
    base

    2020 Team champion preview

    **ASSUMING** that they score the tournament the same as last year (no advancement or bonus points for Friday night) the team race should be very close although I have it as a 3-horse race between Mater Dei, Cathedral and Crown Point. I think between those 3 it's anyone's tourney - bonus points, key matchups and some unexpected scorers could tilt the victory one way or another. Here is how the scoring works (again, using last year's formula). Wrestlers score for Advancement points and Placement points. Those are predetermined: Additionally, wrestlers can add team points versus Activity scoring: Obviously it makes a HUGE difference whether the wrestler can make it to the finals versus the 3rd/4th place match, and so on. Here are my predictions: 1. Evansville Mater Dei - 9 wrestlers with several chances to make the finals. Some huge landmines though that could really effect the outcome! 2. Indianapolis Cathedral - Some good early matchups means that they have a good chance to have a large number of wrestlers making it deep 3. Crown Point - With Mendez leading the way, the Bulldogs have some hammers that could make a deep run. They have some huge matchups with Mater Dei Evansville Mater Dei Nine wrestlers starting out Friday night for EMD. Close matchups for Egli, Baumann, Sollars and Parkinson - if they get all 9 through, look out! 113 Cole Ross likely to face Logan Frazier in his 2nd match. If we wins that, a tough one against the Schoeff/Anthony winner. I have Ross making the finals 120 Alec Freeman has a brutal route - Head to Head with Crown Point's Riley Bettich in the 2nd round, then has to beat Cathedral's Seltzer if he wants to reach the finals 126 Ashton Hayhurst - Has undefeated Dylan Stroud in the opening round. Can he get by him? If so, then battle-tested David Pierson in the 2nd round and Rioux in the 3rd. That's a lot to ask of a sophomore 132 Kane Egli - He's got a tough road, but guys like this senior can decide the team title. He faces Slivka from Roncalli in the 1st match. If he gets to Saturday he will likely have Ian Heath before hitting Mendez. Making the final 4 would be big 138 Blake Boarman is the big dog in a difficult half-bracket. For his 3rd match will probably face either Logan Wagner or Floyd Central's Conway 145 Brody Baumann has winnable first 2 matches but they won't be easy. Jajuan Anderson from Warren Central will push the pace - and then AJ Poindexter will stand in the way of a top 4 finish 160 Eli Dickens - Based on this year's results he is the favorite - but the final 4 at 160 will be extremely entertaining and could go any combination. He would have a match versus Cathedral's Eliot Rodgers in his 3rd match to reach the finals. That's a HUGE swing match for team points 170 Gabe Sollars - Someone like Sollars could make a huge difference. His first match is against Chesterton junior Gavin Layman. Then he would face a likely head-to-head matchup against Cathedral's Tyler Wagner 182 Macartney Parkinson - has the toughest quarter bracket in the tournament. Opens up against #1 Joseph Walker then has Mason Winner in the 2nd round. It's feast or famine for Mater Dei here Indianapolis Cathedral Cathedral enters 8 wrestlers to the field Friday night. All of them have a shot to make it to Saturday, with some high scoring potential 106 Evan Dickey comes in as a 4th place finisher, but he does avoid the loaded other half-bracket. His Friday night match is against Isaac Ruble - if he can get by that, then his points will really be a help 120 Zeke Seltzer is the prohibitive favorite but it isn't a cake walk. He may see Bettich or Freeman in the 3rd round. Still, it's likely big points here 138 Logan Bailey is a big swing in points, I think. He has potential to reach the finals, but he has a match against Drake Campbell in the 2nd round that could be a scare 160 Elliot Rodgers has a good path until that final 4 where he faces Dickens who has beat him this season. Will experience win over latest results? 170 Tyler Wagner may face EMD's Gabe Sollars in his 2nd match - that's a big showdown. Wagner could make a run to the finals 182 Johnny Parker - Unfortunately for Parker, he drew in to the death quarter bracket of Mason Winner then Parkinson/Walker. Tough to see him winning the first round, let alone getting to the final 4 195 Jacob Huffman - he is an interesting one. His first match is against Friedt, who is ranked higher but also lost to his Cathedral teammate Parker this season. I don't have Huffman making it to Saturday, but he could surprise and get into that 5th-8th range. In that case, bonus points would be key 285 Holden Parsons - the senior Yorktown transfer has wrestled well this season and the 285 weight class is always unpredictable. I have him winning 2 matches before facing Dancy from Portage. Parsons is very experienced and opposite the Key/Irick combo. If he can slow down the match and wrestle strategically against Dancy, he could be under the lights with some HUGE points Crown Point Crown Point brings 8 wrestlers to the first round. I think their first round looks great, which means they will get 6 or possibly 7 into the scoring rounds. They are very young, but still could surprise some of the older wrestlers and make deep runs to make this a close race 106 Sammy Goin has only lost once all season. I would love his chances - but he got a tough, tough draw. He has Chundi in the 2nd round. That match may be a tossup. Can Goin get past Chundi and make it into the final 4 and possibly win it all? Since there are so many young wrestlers here and the action is lightning-quick, 106 can be very unpredictable and the matches can turn quickly 113 Logan Frazier is another freshman. He has a stiff task, facing the experienced Cole Ross from EMD in the 2nd round. I would give the edge to Ross, but I am not counting out these young bulldogs either 120 Riley Bettich has a ton of talent and the chance to take out a couple of head to head competitors. He should have Alec Freeman in the 2nd round, then Zeke Seltzer in the 3rd 126 Stephen Roberson - we all know the 126 weight class is bonkers this year. There are no easy paths to the finals and Roberson will have to face Kysen Montgomery in the 2nd round, then the winner of Dalton/Lowery showdown in the 3rd round if he wants to see the finals. Possiblity of huge points, or very few points here. 132 Jesse Mendez - He'll have the target on his back this year. Hard to see anyone stopping him from winning it all and getting the 20 team points. So the question may be how many bonus points can he rack up to help out the team? 138 Nick Tattini - Don't have Tattini getting to Saturday. If he can manage to get there, that's a huge boost for CP 145 Orlando Cruz - he also faces a murderer's row of wrestlers but he is capable of getting some points. He has Feichter in the 1st round, then likely Avon's Jaden Reynolds in the 2nd round before seeing undefeated Alec Viduya in the semis. Any points here would be a big win 160 Noah Hollendonner is the #1 seed. He should win his first, but then will have to try to break up the favored final 4 at this weight. He will see the winner of Noehre/Asbury. Look for Noah to be shooting for 5th-8th range and getting bonus points where he can Honorable Mentions Brownsburg - Some great wrestlers with some brutal matchups. Logan Miller at 106 should reach the semis. Kysen Montgomery will have Roberson in 2nd round. DRake Campbell has only lost once this season - can he knock off Logan Bailey in the 2nd round? Peyton Asbury got a Friday night death draw versus Noehre, but he will not make it an easy out. 285 Dorian Keys is the returning champion - can he repeat against Irick in a likely rematch with Irick in the semifinals and bring home another title? Chesterton - Look for Ellis and Bates to score big points here. Torres is great but has Rioux in the 2nd round. Kaiser would have to beat Boarman in the 2nd round. Tough roads to reach those big-point finals Perry Meridian - Only 3 wrestlers, but all of them have a legit shot to get to the finals. Cottey (113), Koontz (132) and Warren (182) can rack up mega points, but they are just hurt by lack of sheer numbers Roncalli - Similar to Perry. The Lowery brothers only have 2 losses between them on the season. Both could make a nice run to the finals. Viduya is on fire and he could be the 3rd Roncalli wrestler to reach the finals. Slivka is talented but has a really tough first round matchup with Kane Egli. If the other 3 can get to the finals and Slivka reaches the final 4 then we may see Roncalli creeping up the board Warren Central - 5 wrestlers here. Brice Coleman is undefeated and favored - he should score lots of points. David Pierson at 126 would be challenged at every step, but he has the potential and experience to make a deep run. Jajuan Anderson, Damon McClain and Dennis Hubbard could score some points, but not enough As always these are only my opinions. Good luck to all teams and wrestlers this weekend - hope that everyone wrestles their best match(es) ever and stays injury-free, in victory or defeat.
  32. 16 points
    Silas Allred has been chosen to represent the Team USA All-Stars at the “Rose Bowl of Wrestling”.....The Pittsburgh Classic. An all senior event for 50+ years, Silas will represent the 195lbs weight class. The event will take place March 14th, at Fitzgerald Fieldhouse on the University of Pittsburgh campus. The dual meet will not have the 106-113-or heavyweight division. Rather....it will be 120-220, and have 2 matches at 138 & 195. Silas (#2 via Flo) will be squaring off against PA State Champ and Michigan commit Gage Garcia #3. Tremendous honor for Silas to be selected and represent Shenandoah High School, CIA Wrestling, Indiana Wrestling, as well as his future Nebraska Cornhuskers at this prestigious event. Other notable participants and match-ups..... Serrano USA132 (Nebraska Commit) 138lbs.....1-4 in the country. 182lbs Poznanski NJ (Rutgers) vs Neijhous (Purdue). 195 Christensen (Iowa commit) vs Stout (Princeton) 220lbs Braxton Amos USA (Wisconsin) I’ve been told complete lineups will be available online soon. These are simply what I remember through phone conversation. Tickets are now available, and the event will be broadcasted on Flo.
  33. 16 points
    blueandgold

    Thank You, Joe and Co.

    I just want to say thank you to IndianaMat for providing us with great content over this last decade and making this website highly accessible for those either getting into wrestling or those who have been around it for years. We don’t know how good we have it, guys. The only thing we have to pay for every year is the preseason magazine. Other states have followed a new custom of charging fans for things such as rankings, articles, etc. and IndianaMat has allowed us to be on here and explore with no charge. Thanks guys for all you do for Indiana wrestling. I love this sport so much.
  34. 16 points
    Darrick Snyder

    Wrestlebacks Poll

    Here’s my opinion: If we want wrestlebacks from the IHSAA, do NOT argue a kid gets caught or has a bad match. They say we aren’t valuing the effort and performance of the kid had who pulled the upset. Focus on the ridiculous draws that puts two placers against each other. At Mishawaka Joey Smith beats Trace Hall of SB Riley in triple OT I believe to win the Regional. We had lost to him like 3 times that year. Our reward is we draw into Galka of Hobart who had been injured precious week. Hall places at state and we lose in ticket round 3-2. Even better one: Trent Reinoehl beats Young of CMA in OT to win regional. Churchard of Valpo and Roach of Crown Point are In same regional. Our reward? We draw roach in ticket round and lose 3-2. Chrurchard gets first, roach 2nd and young 3rd at state while we sit in the stands. If we are ever going to get wrestlebacks, it’s my opinion that these situations must be focus. Don’t even bring up someone getting caught. IHSAA will use that against us. Snyder
  35. 16 points
    Coach McCormick

    Thank You Louis Rosbottom

    It is my understanding that Keith Davison is the new ISWA chairman. I first want to congratulate Keith on his new position and wish him the best of luck. I would like to thank Louis Rosbottom for everything he, and his wife Sharon, have done for the ISWA over the years. Their dedication and devotion to Indiana wrestling is immeasurable. I had the privilege of sitting on the ISWA board of directors for roughly 8 years (a number of years ago) with the Rosbottom's. When you start looking at the ISWA's annual budget meeting, services, programs, the ISWA office, trips, coaches, tournament management, etc, etc, etc, the ISWA is a HUGE undertaking and the Rosbottom's have been a positive influence and driving force behind all of these operations for many years. Thank you Louis for your servant leadership style of management. Indiana wrestling wouldn't be where it is today without everything you and Sharon have done with the ISWA. Regards, Trent McCormick Yorktown Wrestling
  36. 15 points
    The people have spoken. Thanks for all the input. President Greg Ratliff, tournament director JD Minch, and others have put their heads together and figured out proposed ways to make 20 mats work so that we can run with the idea of 8 teams in 3A and 4A and 12 teams in 1A and 2A. See the updated nitty gritty details in the original post. Cheers
  37. 15 points
    ****This article is the hard work of a central Indiana coach who would prefer not to reveal his or her identity It might be one of the toughest overall Semi State’s I have ever seen with an average of nearly 6 ranked wrestlers in every weight class. In almost every quarter-bracket a State ranked or Semi State ranked opponent will be having their seasons ended prematurely. Further, the IHSAA Team Title very well may come down to the first two rounds of the New Castle Semi State with 7 potential matchups between Cathedral and Warren Central. The semistate also features the highest nationally ranked wrestler in Indiana in Silas Allred of Shenandoah. 106 State Ranked Wrestlers #1 Alex Cottey PM #4 Suhas Chundi Carmel #7 Carleton Perry WC #9 Elijah Anthony Frankfort #10 Logan Carrender LN #15 Kody Glithero Roncalli #18 Sam Crousore HSE Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #7 Evan Dickey Cathedral #8 Isaiah Otto South Dearborn Potential Matchups #9 Elijah Anthony vs #8ss Isaiah Otto First Round with #10 Logan Carrender looming in the ticket round. Anthony entered his freshman campaign undefeated going into sectionals losing to #4 Chundi twice headed into Semi state. Carrender is red hot after winning the Pendleton Regional. #7 Carleton Perry vs #7ss Evan Dickey Cathedral first round with #18 Sam Crousore looking to be the first 4 over 1 of the tournament. Perry pinned Dickey earlier in the year, but Cathedral is known for stepping up their game come tournament time. Will Dickey be 2019 Andrew Wilson/Elliot Rodgers?He is one of the smaller 106s I've seen in a long time, but his technique is picture perfect. #4 Suhas Chundi versus #15 Kody Glithero in the ticket round. Chundi has a 5-2 win earlier in the season but Roncalli is riding high after 6 champs at the brutal Perry Meridian Regional. At least 3 ranked guys going home early here. #1 Cottey vs winner of #9 Anthony/#10 Carrender Semis #4 Chundi vs #7 Perry semis 1st Round Picks Cottey over Flowers Condo over Pritchett Carrender over Bullock Anthony over Otto Crousore over Necessary Perry over Dickey Chundi over Busch Glithero over Williams Tickets Punched in Order Cottey, Chundi, Perry, Carrender Alpha Dog Alex Cottey 113 State Ranked Wrestlers #2 Zeke Seltzer Cathedral #3 David Pierson WC #14 Jake Simone HSE #15 Christian White New Pal #18 Antonio Jefferson LC Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #5 Andrew Haggerty PM #6 Anthony Hughes LN #8 Brac Hooper Carmel Potential Matchups #15 Christian White vs #8ss Brac Hooper followed by potentially our second 4 over 1 with #6ss Hughes. White has the experience and the name to get through this quarter bracket, but don’t expect Hooper or Hughes to lay down for him. #3 David Pierson vs #18 Antonio Jefferson. A rematch from the Marion County finals in the ticket round. It was a very tight match until the third period when Pierson got on top and secured the win. #3 Pierson vs #14 Simone semi-finals in a rematch of the 2018 ticket round. 1st Round Picks Seltzer over Ramsey Haggerty over Driver Hughes over Gordon White over Hooper Simone over Wilson Johnson over Galusha Pierson over Bautista Jefferson over Seal Tickets Punched in Order Seltzer, Pierson, Simone, White Alpha Dogs Zeke Seltzer and David Pierson 120 State Ranked Wrestlers #4 Breyden Lowery Roncalli #5 Carson Eldred Westfield #10 Chris Stewart WC Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #4 Harrison Hadley Lapel #5 Carson Johnson Mount Vernon #6 Traye Owens New Castle #7 Parker Mosley NM #8 Logan Galbraith NC Potential Matchups #4ss Hadley vs #6ss Owens first round. A battle of seniors including Hadley trying to return to state for the second year. The winner of this matchup gets to do battle with #10 Chris Stewart in the ticket round. Hadley did what he needed to advance at the Pendleton regional, but he'll need to bring his A game to get to the Ticket round this year. #8ss Galbraith, #7ss Moseley and Nick Morton will all bang it out to try and earn a spot at Bankers Life. These kids could wrestle 10 different times with a different winner each time. #4 Lowery vs #5 Eldred Semis. This one should be a battle between two highly decorated grapplers. 1st Round Picks Eldred over Donlan Dennison over Otto Lowery over Parodi Johnson over Condo Owens over Hadley Stewart over Gunn Galbraith over Euson Moseley over Morton Tickets Punched in Order Lowery, Stewart, Eldred, Galbraith Alpha Dog Brayden Lowery 126 State Ranked Wrestlers #6 Lukasz Walendzak Cathedral #7 Logan Wagner Zionsville #8 Cameron Toole Lebanon #9 Chase Wilkerson Mount Vernon #11 Jevian Ross Warren Central #18 Grant Stapleton Lawrenceburg Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #6 Dalton Huffman #7 Sam Slivka Potential Matchups #6 Walendzak vs #8 Toole first round. A top eight ranked kid will be knocked out in the first round of semi state. Winner has undefeated #18 Stapleton in the ticket round. I would normally go with the experience of Walendzak here but he has taken losses two weeks in a row to kids ranked worse than him. #7ss Slivka vs Jared Brown should be good. Brown had Mattingly dead in the water last year in the ticket round and got pinned while winning by double digits. Don’t expect him to go down easily after beating Walendzak last week. #9 Wilkerson vs #11 Ross in a rematch from North Montgomery Holiday Classic. Ross got the fall in their dual in December. Should be a good one. #2 Wagner vs #9Wilkerson/#11 Ross Semi Finals. Wagner has put together a great sophomore campaign, but I suspect this semi finals will be a great matchup. 1st Round Picks Stapleton over Franco Toole over Walendzak Slivka over Fuller Brown over Lloyd Wilkerson over Langeman Ross over Frazier Wagner over Huffman McKee over Lonneman Tickets Punched in Order Toole, Brown, Ross, Wagner Alpha Dog Logan Wagner 132 State Ranked Wrestlers #2 Alex Viduya Roncalli #5 Logan Bailey Cathedral #13 Seth Johnson NM Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #5 Aundre Beatty WC #8 Sebastian Bryant North Central Potential Matchups #5 Bailey vs #5ss Beatty. A rematch from early December. Bailey’s experience and win definitely weigh heavily here, however, Beatty is a dangerous wrestler that shouldn’t be overlooked. #13 Johnson vs #2 Viduya Semis with #5 Bailey in finals. If it is Viduya in the finals against Bailey it will be a rematch from a January dual where Viduya won 9-2. Don’t expect the margin to be that high again as Bailey will be prepared for the rematch. 1st Round Picks Brown over Naselroad Merkel over Defreese Bailey over Vredeveld Beatty over Lauy Viduya over Ramsey Wilkerson over Boggs Johnson over Collier Bryant over Walston Tickets Punched in Order Merkel, Bailey, Viduya, Johnson Alpha Dog Alec Viduya 138—Nasty weight class where two returning state qualifiers have each other first round. State Ranked Wrestlers #2 Tyce Freije Roncalli #5 Gabe Phillips Centerville #9 Gabe Smith PM #12 Jarred Rowlett WC #13 Kyle Holman Carmel #16 Andrew Wilson Cathedral #17 Chris Wilkerson Mount Vernon Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #6 Adam Negangard East Central #8 Reece Luhmann HSE Potential Matchups #9 Gabe Smith vs #13 Kyle Holman in the ticket round. These two did not see each other at team state but one top ranked kid will be ending their careers a week earlier than expected. #12 Jarred Rowlett vs #16 Andrew Wilson. Two returning IHSAA State Qualifiers a year ago battle it out in the first round. Rowlett came out on top in a decision back in December and looks to end his career on the floor of Bankers life. Wilson is looking for that magic he found a year ago to help his team win another team title. #5 Phillips vs #12 Rowlett/#16 Wilson Ticket Round. No rest for either returning qualifier with undefeated Phillips waiting in the wings. A SSQ a year ago before injury ended his season is looking to punch his first ticket over someone looking for their second ticket. 1st Round Picks Wilkerson over Goodwin Lauy over Walsh Freije over Johnson-Sparks Luhmann over Negangard Holman over Crouch Smith over Pettiford Phillips over Poynter Rowlett over Wilson Tickets Punched in Order Wilkerson, Freije, Smith, Rowlett Alpha Dog Tyce Freije 145 State Ranked Wrestlers #2 Bryer Hall South Dearborn #4 Aiden Warren PM #5 Antwaun Graves WC #9 Jeff Dunasky Guerin Catholic #20 Terrell Leavell LC Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #8 Joe Theriot Carmel Potential Matchups #5 Graves vs #9 Dunasky. This one should be good as Dunasky knocked of Frejie a few weeks ago at the conference tournament that was still held during the “snow storm” week where everyone else canceled. Graves is a returning medalist looking to get back on the podium. Graves is a four time SSQ at 145. #2 Hall vs #20 Leavell. Leavell is battle tested and has been here before and is looking for his first trip to the Bank. #3 Mosconi vs #4 Warren Semis in an overtime rematch #2 Hall vs #5 Graves Semis in a rematch from a 4-3 decision in January. 1st Round Picks Theriot over Alford Warren over Wilburn Mosconi over Newlin Wright over Wolf Graves over Miles Dunasky over Lindemood Hall over Smith Leavell over Bates Tickets Punched in Order Warren, Mosconi, Graves, Hall Alpha Dog Maybe Hall but really whoever has the best day. Graves beat Mosconi, Mosconi beat Warren, Warren beat Graves at Marion County and Graves pinned Warren at Regionals. 152—Potential state finals match in the ticket round State Ranked Wrestlers #2 Elliot Rodgers Cathedral #3 Cooper Noehre Greenfield #4 Brice Coleman WC #9 Sammy Fair PM #13 Tytus Ragle New Castle #14 Easton Williamson Lebanon Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #7 Andrew Roberts Lawrenceburg #8 Maxwell Hayes Mount Vernon Potential Matchups #2 Rodgers vs #4 Coleman. About as big of an argument for wrestlebacks as I’ve seen. This match could easily be under the lights at Bankers Life next week but is instead going to be wrestled in the ticket round. Someone who should be on the podium next week will be watching from the stands. #3 Noehre vs #13 Ragle vs #14 Williamson/#8ss Hayes. A very tough quarter bracket where two top 16 kids will be staying home after strong seasons. 1st Round Picks Rodgers over Williams Coleman over Sunding Davin over Goodner Fair over Roberts Otto over Atkins Dunn over Mangus Noehre over Ragle Hayes over Williamson Tickets Punched in Order (Coleman/Rodgers), Fair, Dunn, Noehre Alpha Dog Coleman/Rodgers 160 State Ranked Wrestlers #2 Jordan Slivka Cathedral #3 Brooks Davis PM #9 Ronan Hiner HSE #10 Aaron Taylor WC #12 Jake Lowe NM #14 Bradley Harrington North Central #18 Hayden Lohrey Shenandoah Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #7 Andrew Roth Lawrenceburg #8 Garrett Sharp Carmel Potential Matchups Rebein vs #14 Harrington vs Lowe. An interesting group where 4 of the total 12 losses come from #10 Aaron Taylor. Rebein is a hammer on top with his wing and could surprise both of the ranked wrestlers here. #2 Slivka vs #10 Taylor. Another Cathedral and Warren matchup. Taylor has had an up and down year winning the Marion County tournament but definitely has the attributes to pull the upset. Slivka is, of course, a monster... Winner gets #9 Hiner who has a win over Taylor at the John Hurrle. Two top 10 wrestlers seasons will end in this quarter bracket alone. #2 vs #3 in the semis with Slivka and Davis 1st Round Picks Lowe over Bushey Rebein over Harrington Lohrey over Morgan Miller over Moore Slivka over Taylor Hiner over Roth Davis over Williams Rohrig over Sharp Tickets Punched in Order Rebein, Miller, Slivka, Davis Alpha Dog Jordan Slivka 170 State Ranked Wrestlers #3 Cody Klettheimer Frankton #5 Elijah Mahan Roncalli #8 Tucker Coffman Union County #10 Logan Hart Carmel #11 Kyle Saez Westfield #13 Josh Lowe NM #17 Drake Kendrex Mount Vernon #20 Tyler Wagner Cathedral Potential Matchups #11 Saez vs #20 Wagner. Wagner has had a very strong season even if it was done quietly with his #20 ranking. He has several very good wins and will be looking to help his team win a IHSAA state title. #3 Mahan vs # 17 Kendrex. A lot of tough draws for Mount Vernon with Kendrex doing battle with returning medalist Mahan for a ticket to state. #8 Coffman vs #13 Lowe. The second of the medalists battling another ranked opponent for a spot at the bank with Coffman being the returning 4th place finisher. #3 Klettheimer vs #10 Hart. Hart dropping down from 182 a year ago versus the returning 7th place finisher in Kleittheimer. 1st Round Picks Saez over McClain Wagner over Noble Mahan over Reynolds Kendrex over Calderon Coffman over Rice Lowe over Battista Klettheimer over Massey Hart over Baker Tickets Punched in Order Saez, Mahan, Coffman, Klettheimer Alpha Dog Cody Klettheimer 182 State Ranked Wrestlers #8 Cameron Bacon Carmel #12 Jalen Morgan Elwood #14 JD Farrell Fishers #19 Devontay Moore North Central Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #4 Clayton Todd Pendleton Heights #5 PJ Sterrett Mount Vernon #8 Jake Combs Hagerstown Potential Matchups #4ss Todd vs #14 Farrell first round #8ss Combs vs #5ss Sterrett ticket round #8 Bacon vs #19 Moore in a rematch of the MIC finals first round #8 Bacon vs #12 Morgan Semis with Bacon down a weight class from a year ago and Morgan trying to make it a round further and be on the podium at the Bank. This should be a good one. 1st Round Picks Filipovich over Black Farrell over Todd Combs over Stanley Sterrett over VanDeventer Bacon over Moore Dycus Over Vaughn Morgan over Woodall Viel over Goodall Tickets Punched in Order Farrell, Sterrett, Bacon, Morgan Alpha Dog Jalen Morgan 195 State Ranked Wrestlers #1 Silas Allred Shenandoah #9 KJ Roudebush Tipton #12 Austin Lane PM #13 Tremor Bynum PH #15 Jack Heldt Carmel Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #7 Gavin Keesee Franklin Central #8 Nathan Bishop WC Potential Matchups #15 Heldt vs #9 Roudebush ticket round. One of these seniors will be staying home next weekend when the other could very easily be on the podium. Roudebush is some kind of athlete. Winner will see #12 Austin Lane in the semis. All eyes will be on the Cornhusker commit #1 Silas Allred, a prohibitive favorite. 1st Round Picks Heldt over Beard Roudebush over Shafer Lane over Maish Mills over Pierce Bynum over Krummen Keesee over Medlen Allred over Garcia Bishop over Shew Tickets Punched in Order Roudebush, Lane, Bynum, Allred Alpha Dog Silas Allred 220 State Ranked Wrestlers #3 Andrew Irick HSE #4 Kyle Cornwell Elwood #8 Drew Webster NM #15 Deshawn Young Franklin Central #16 Haakon Van Beynen Carmel #20 David Guhl Cathedral Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #6 Cade Campbell PH #7 Carlos Mitchell WC Potential Matchups #4 Cornwell vs #16 Van Beynen ticket round. The Carmel phenom will have his hands full with Cornwell looking to finish #1 after losing his ranking at the North Mont Holiday Classic. Cornwell is ranked nationally in some publications. #7ss Mitchell vs #20 Guhl. In Mitchell's first tournament after winning a 6A IHSAA Football Title, he took losses to both Guhl and Williams of Avon. He avenged the Williams loss and is looking to help knock another Cathedral contender out of the series. Winner has the privilege of wrestling #3 Irick who took a rubber match loss to #8 Webster. Irick comes from a long line of bad men from HSE, and is ranked nationally. #8 Webster vs #15 Young/Brown. Young is very athletic and has gone back and forth with Mitchell from Warren. He is also the Marion County Champion and is looking to punch a ticket to state. Brown is no slouch and just beat #20 Guhl last week and Mitchell at the MIC. Browning/Burton/#6ss Campbell is an interesting quarter bracket where anyone can come out with the golden ticket. 1st Round Picks Cornwell over Mcclure Van Beynen over Dick Mitchell over Guhl Irick over Pandoli Webster over Badger Young over Brown Browning over Arvin Campbell over Burton Tickets Punched in Order Cornwell, Irick, Webster, Campbell Alpha Dog Drew Webster 285 State Ranked Wrestlers #1 Jamichael Watts North Central #9 Dennis Hubbard WC #10 John Harris Roncalli #12 Antone Alexander Franklin Central #17 Crae Kunkelman HSE Semi-State Ranked Wrestlers #6 Jonathan Williams Carmel #7 Zack McQueen Connersville #8 Josh Berger Northeastern Potential matchups: #10 Harris vs #7ss McQueen #17 Kunkelman vs #12 Alexander. A tough draw with Kunkelman getting third each week at sectionals and regionals against a tough FC Alexander who finds a way to win. #9 Hubbard vs #6ss Williams. A MIC rematch of an earlier contest where Hubbard got an early fall. Look for the Greyhound to try and take this match back. Winner gets #1 Watts in the ticket round. Hubbard lost a 1-0 match to Watts at the Marion County. A top 10 kid will be watching state rather than wrestling. 1st Round Picks: Harris over McDaniel McQueen over Evans Keller over Jones Berger over Wertz Aherns over Stephens Kunkelman over Alexander Watts over Adams Hubbard over Williams Tickets Punched in Order Harris, Keller, Kunkelman, Watts Alpha Dog Jamichael Watts
  38. 15 points
    Nick Dewig

    Boards about to die down

    Consistent updates from your dating experiences
  39. 15 points
    Man I hope so! As his dad, I know my son would never lose if “karma” was an actual thing! Lol! Did he overreact? Yeah, maybe. He also immediately felt regret and without prompting took it upon himself (remember a 16 year old kid) to go speak to Hobart’s coaches, Tylor, Tylor’s parents, our coaches, his teammates, his family, and others. You need to remember that Tylor (AWESOME KID AND FAMILY!) and Brock have been very good friends, teammates and wrestling partners for years at RWA. Brock was extremely excited to win against someone he has so much respect for. My son...no I’m sorry....my CHILDREN have been raised to be respectful and humble, and both are. I couldn’t be prouder of Brock, the man he is becoming, the student he is, the friend he is, the brother he is, the teammate he is, and the fact that wrestler doesn’t even come close to the top of the list of great things he is! He also would like it pointed out he squished a bug off his shoulder, not a “cigarette” lol! Man I also really hope your “karma” comes back twice as hard on him this week! Thanks for the motivation too! Love the Peele Family!
  40. 14 points
    To the IndianaMat community and especially to those senior wrestlers and/or parents: First of all, I'd like to apologize for any hardships you, loved ones, or anyone dear to you is enduring because of the Coronavirus. It's disrupting nearly all aspects of our every day lives, schooling, and work. I'd like to say, especially to the current high school seniors (and by extension, parents) who in many cases have lost their final semesters, proms, sports seasons, and more that I feel for your losses. In retrospect, at least (high school) wrestling got to conclude its season. IHSAA basketball, along with NCAA Winter Sports weren't so fortunate. Hopefully, for all seniors and parents, you were able to complete your goals and end your final season on the note(s) you desired. However, speaking from personal experience, I know that realistically this isn't the case for most. For you all, it has, at the least, been a month (roughly) since the end of the State tournament. Most of you are done with in-person schooling. My question is: What comes next? Though it is pertinent right now to keep a grasp of the day-to-day, especially with how drastically things can shift, it is just as important to not lose sight of your futures. One of the things that has been affected by the pandemic, due the closure of universities and schools, is college recruiting (academically and athletically). If you are leaving your houses, it certainly isn't to visit campuses. Thus, the process of recruiting and the process of college selection have both been complicated tenfold. With this post, I'd like to do my part both on behalf of the Wabash Wrestling program and Wabash College itself to reach out to this community. A little background on me: My name is Anthony Cicciarelli, and I'm currently finishing my junior year at Wabash (online, ha .. ha). At school I double major in Math and Spanish. My journey to Wabash essentially began March of my senior year. I originally hail from Brownsburg; despite being less than an hour away from my hometown, I honestly never really knew about Wabash other than things like Scholastic Duals and just hearing the name in conversation. Beginning during my senior season, I met a few Wabash coaches at tournaments and sent a few texts, but I still really had no idea about the school or people at all. At this point, I wasn't too focused on figuring out my college situation until the end of season. After its conclusion, I considered a lot of things for my future. I ultimately decided two things: I had higher things to aspire for academically, and I had higher goals to set for myself athletically. Wabash gave me a place in which I could accomplish both. Upon visiting Wabash for the first time, *cue cliche* I fell in love. If I were to sum up what I loved, and still love today, about the school, I would mention three important aspects of Wabash: 1) Community With a college of around 900 students, Wabash truly feels like its own neighborhood as opposed to a whole city (e.g. large state schools). When I say that you will see everyone, you will see everyone. Not only do I see almost every professor I've ever had walking across campus on a daily basis, I often times eat lunch less than 10 feet of them (at the Wrestler table in the dining hall). I see classmates all around campus, whether at the library or the gym. On the wrestling side, with a team of over 50 members at a school of 900, the math says that about 1 in 18 of the people right next to me is going to be someone I already know and have a relationship with already. Often times it's even more than that. Each of my classes this semester, I have at minimum one other wrestler with me to work, study, and learn with. Past all of this, the simplest evidence of the communal structure of Wabash can be found every Thursday, when we have a complete class block (1 hour 15 min) blocked off on top of our lunch hour so that students and staff are free to attend an all campus, community meeting in the Wabash "Chapel"(non-religious). 2) Accessibility During my first visit to school, I got to sit in on a class and later meet a professor tailored to my future major interests. The professor sat and talked math with me for the hour, and lo and behold today I am a math major. I was walked between buildings by an individual student guide, and walked to meet and explore the athletic facilities by multiple members of the wrestling team to meet the coaches. Today, as a student, accessibility has not changed a bit. Just my daily homework routine exemplifies it perfectly. My most productive homework spot is in the coaches' office alongside our 4 on site coaches. I'm usually joined by one or two other wrestlers at any given time. If I have an issue with the work, I have a few options. I can reach out to any one of my team members who between themselves cover pretty much any subject area in their majors. I can walk two minutes to my professors' open offices in any of the academic buildings. I can send an email to the professor or the multiple tutoring centers on campus and make an appointment within the very same day. Or, my personal favorite, I can even text a handful of previous or current professors that have given me their personal numbers for all and any reasons necessary. The easiest part of it all is that I can do it all within a 5 minute walk on campus. 3) Independence Independence is inherent in almost every person's college experience. For the first time for many students, they are on their own physically, mentally, and emotionally. From the beginning, until the most recent day I was on campus, that rang true. Wabash is grounded in one simple, yet profoundly important, ideal and principle for student conduct: The Gentleman's Rule. It states: "The student is expected to conduct himself at all times, both on and off the campus, as a gentleman and a responsible citizen." This is all encapsulating and all encompassing for life on campus. Simply, students are given the freedom and guidance to conduct themselves in a manner that they see fit, as long as it fits the confines of our one rule. Within Wabash, students find themselves given permissions and privileges that larger schools would never allow. (Of course, if these become detrimental in the slightest, they are not permitted - as they break the one and only rule). In short, good luck finding another school in Indiana that allows all students to have and park their cars free of charge and for all grade levels. This is just the tip of the iceberg in the unique student independence at Wabash. While these are some more personal reasons, the specs of the school and Wrestling program are equally as important and impressive. (Full disclosure, I'm not an actual recruiter or employee of the college, so these are going to be my version of the specs. More empirical numbers can be found on wabash.edu) Wrestling-wise -A team of consistently over 50 members -A team with three #1 ranked wrestlers this previous season, and many more in the rankings -A separate, wrestling-exclusive, nearly brand new wrestling facility that outsizes and outshines many Division I facilities -An extremely high level practice room and talent pool -Wrestler exclusive workout area, exercise equipment, cold and hot tub, fridge, and locker room -A full field house and track for all students, and a full gym (both traditional and more athletics focused areas) -Access to a staff of over 7 combined coaches School-wise -Top notch, incredible financial aid and scholarship opportunities -An extremely high caliber education and net of professors -#1 ranked Career Services in the nation (per Princeton Review) completely free of additional cost -A beautiful and well-preserved campus, as well as short distance between all points -Around 40 majors and minors -Options for both fraternity and independent living -Opportunities for immersion courses, which are classes built around a travel component that is provided free of cost to students (I spent a week in Mexico last year) These are, of course, just some of the so many highlights of the school. There are many more incredible features and compelling statistics for finding. My final message to the seniors that I want to express is that, when considering plans for yourself after high school, you need to look at the big picture. This includes not only the month, or the year, ahead of you. This includes, four, ten, and twenty years down the line. Wabash is a place that is ready to take you in for the present and ride with you for the future. Wabash is a place derived and thriving on goals. An opportunity here will allow you to set incredible goals for yourself, and for those who are willing to work -- achieve these goals on and off of the mat. My life would be profoundly different if I was not still able to wrestle today, and I can confidently say that it would be profoundly worse off as well. Wabash allowed me to mold my unaccomplished goals and unsteady ambitions for the future of high school into clearly structured, attainable, and elite objectives for my college and professional life. Wabash is a place where I can keep enjoying this sport. Wabash is a place where I can keep growing as a man. Wabash is a place where I can keep my future within my grasp. Wabash is a special place. I hope that, at the very least, this has reminded seniors of the important of the times to soon come, the importance of the times behind them, and certainly the unique times we are living in right now. I really urge those who still have unknowns about their future as students, athletes, and student athletes to give Wabash a sincere consideration when making these decisions. It is absolutely not too late to take an interest in the school. Though for obvious reasons, most on campus visits and resources are unavailable right now in person, I can assure you that any member of the community and faculty will be willing to help in every way possible. To any wrestler or parent that has any questions or interests in the school and/or wrestling program, I would really love to help you in the best way possible or put you in contact with someone who can. My phone number is (317) 654-5240 and my email is amciccia21@wabash.edu. Anthony Cicciarelli, Wabash '21 P.S. Any current or former Wabash student, wrestler, fan, or friend of the school that might be able to give their own side "Why Wabash?" as well, please do!
  41. 14 points
    Y2CJ41

    Folkstyle State hurt by Corona?

    Here is a novel concept, let's not force the kids to shake hands with all the coaches, refs, table help, and everyone there.
  42. 14 points
    Antknee

    How Many Wrestlers?

    I began coaching at Mishawaka a year after I had graduated from there, and spent 2 years learning from a HOF coach. Moved on from there and spent 6 years at Jimtown, coaching the likes of Kenny Kerrn, Hunter Watts, etc. I had the privilege of learning under another HOF coach. Three years ago, myself and friends/coaches that I trust, took over a program that was in desperate need of a revival. Our first year at Bremen we had 5 kids at the High School level, 13 at the middle school, and 19 came out for the first time for our youth program. Last year we had 11 at the high school, 30 in middle school, and 35 in our club. Going into this year, we have 20 at the high school level, expecting 30+ in the middle school, and we just ended our introductory youth camp with over 40 kids. Our Club is expected to have at least 30+, starting next week, and we are competing in elementary duals in a few weeks. For the first time in about 5 years, Bremen should have a full high school lineup. None of this would be possible if I didn’t have coaches around myself that helped out as much as they do, parents believing in the process, and our philosophy. Good things are in motion and it is exciting to see what we are accomplishing in terms of rebuilding a program. Everything else will fall into place as we move forward! Call us butter, because we are on a roll!
  43. 14 points
    Just want to thank all the Indiana wrestling fans that came to Carver Hawkeye Arena to cheer on Jesse(70+). Jesse definitely had the loudest crowd besides the 2 Iowa commits. Also thank you to the Joe, Mike, and Caleb for coming out(even got to see Caleb's sick dance moves). This was an amazing weekend for Jesse and our family. Jesse was really happy with the support he received from everyone and is already talking about coming back next year. Side note: Indiana has had 5 WNO competitors compared to Iowa's 1. Indiana is killing it on the national scene and there is another strong group of young men in middle school that is going to keep that tradition alive. Indiana is and will continue to be respected.
  44. 14 points
    Does it get much bigger than this? #2 Perry Meridian vs. #4 Mater Dei. Believe or not, this December 21 dual is the lowest stakes match ever contested between the ‘Cats and the Falcons. Here’s your proof: PM and MD first met at the 2000 IHSAA Team State, followed by a 2003 date at the same event. The 2006 meeting was a hootenanny. The IHSAA’s unbroken streak of boneheaded decisions to diminish wrestling was laid bare in the first round of the 2006 Team Event as the #1 Wildcats met the #2 Falcons—in the first round! As we all know, it is impossible and unfair to seed a high-stakes event. You may not like the IHSAA. You may find them self-serving and stupid. BUT, at least they are consistent. In a see-saw affair, Chico Adams and Jimmy Schoettle grabbed victories for Jim Tonte’s team in bouts 12 and 13, earning PM a 23-22 lead. For all the marbles, MD’s Sean Herron claimed a 7-2 victory, resulting in a 25-23 win for the Wildcats. This boosted MD’s record to 3-0 versus the Falcons. However, in 2012, the Falcons turned the tables on the Wildcats beating them in the last ISHAA-sponsored Team State event. The Wildcats were overwhelmed against Tonte’s loaded line-up, and bowed 40-19 in the semi-final. The Falcons cruised to a second, consecutive Team State title For Jim Tonte, it was relief and elation. “I have the utmost respect for Mater Dei, because they have been beating us like a drum forever. They bleed team, so we feel really good about beating them.” On the Red & Gold side of the house, it was agony. Many of the boys on the team attended Team State as a toddler. They grew up watching Mater Dei Wrestling and making the annual trek to Center Grove High School. Most, if not all, had first-hand memories of the great MD teams that delivered so many great victories. This year the trophy would go the Falcons. The dream of a championship was over. In 2014, the IHSWCA got it right, when #1 Mater Dei met #2 Perry Meridian for the Team Title in Muncie. Both line-ups were dotted with star power as Mater Dei brought eight ranked wrestlers to the party while Perry countered with six. Nationally-ranked wrestlers, Nick Lee and Brandon James of Perry Meridian, underscored the gravitas of the rosters. Ashton Forzley opened with an 8-3 win over Garrett Milner. Perry Meridian's Jordan Marion did not read the scouting report on Nick Buedel and paid the price. A few seconds into the match, Marion charged Buedel and was thrown to his back. Ultimately, Buedel prevailed, 19-9. Sam Bassemier, diminished by a flu bug, gutted out a gritty, 8-5 win over Rilee Miller to spot the Wildcats a 10-0 lead. The Falcons got on the scoreboard with a pin at 195 pounds. 220-pound sophomore Kurtis Wilderman scored a hard-fought first period takedown and made it hold up for a crucial, 4-2 victory. Perry scored another fall at 285 pounds to narrow Mater Dei's advantage to a single point. Nolan Weidner found himself in a deep hole against Sunny Nier until he put Nier on his back during a third period scramble. The Red & Gold roared as Weidner cranked on Nier's head, desperately working for the fall. The clock was the enemy as time ran out and Weidner found himself on the wrong side of a 9-7 decision, giving Perry Meridian its first lead of the evening. Sweet Luigs faced unheralded Jack Servies and found a ready and willing opponent. Luigs finally took control of the match and cut Servies late in the third for a major decision attempt. Luigs quickly popped Servies with a headlock, and took him straight to his back. The bench sprang to its feet as the Mater Dei fans roared. With seven ticks remaining on the clock, the referee slapped the mat with gusto. A normally-stoic Luigs allowed a smile and pointed to the bench as his teammates subsequently mobbed him. Seventh-ranked Will Egli took the mat against top-ranked Cornelius Elliot. Like Egli, Elliot was a wide-open wrestler. The duo, pummeled, faked and shot before Elliot scored a second period takedown. Trailing 3-2 in the third period, Egli took Elliot from his feet to his back. The referee started a count and reversed himself, awarding Egli no points. Elliot played defense the balance of the stanza and emerged a 3-2 winner. Fifth-ranked Alex Johnson took the mat against sixth-ranked Ngun Uk, as the 'Cats clung to a one point team advantage. Uk grabbed an early 4-1 lead before Johnson tied the match at the end of the first period. Uk took another lead before Johnson garnered a point for a locked hands call and another point for an escape to nab his first lead of the match. Johnson scored a third period takedown and made it hold up for an emotional, 9-6 win. Nick Lee jumped on the hapless Jordan Napier, executing a takedown clinic to claim a 28-13 technical fall. Joe Lee faced off against senior Brandon James and his 11th-ranked national status. Lee got busy early, scoring a quick takedown. James righted his ship and eventually scored an 8-2 victory. With a 27-21 advantage and two matches to go, another win would put the Falcons away. Junior Blake Jourdan toed the line across from third-ranked Noah Warren. Jourdan wasted no time, securing double under hooks, bear-hugging Warren and taking him to his back. As Warren could not be held down, the match would be decided by takedowns. Wrestling a heady match, Jourdan stayed under control and won the battle, eventually delivering a 14-5 decision. A stone-faced Jourdan strolled to the bench to be surrounded, hugged and patted by his jubilant teammates as the Mater Dei faithful howled. "I was a little nervous before the match," conceded Jourdan. "But I knew what I had to do. I just had to go out, wrestle my match and win." Final Score: Mater Dei- 31, Perry Meridian- 27. Greg Schaefer, winning his first State Title as a coach and capturing Mater Dei's first since 2007, was at a loss for words. "I'm just so proud of our guys," said Schaefer. "We did what we had to do to win." Perhaps no Wildcat had a bigger weekend than Sweet Kyle Luigs. In addition to his key pin against Perry Meridian and win over Erik Owens, Luigs also defeated New Palestine's third-ranked Alec White. But for Luigs, none of these things mattered; redemption was on his mind. "I lost Team State for us last year (Luigs was decisioned in the final bout against Franklin's State Champion, DJ Smith)," said Luigs. "I had to do something so that we could win." First year starter, senior Nick Buedel, relished the ride. Throughout the day, Mater Dei fans were entertained by Buedel's exuberance and antics. "Yeah, I'm having a great time," enthused Buedel. "We're winning and it's awesome! What's not to like?" Senior Alex Johnson was a freshman on the team that was shellacked by Perry Meridian at the 2012 Team State—Mater Dei's first-ever loss to the Falcons. "I wanted to meet Perry in the final and I wanted to beat Perry in the final," said Johnson. "This is the best feeling ever." The Falcons stormed back in 2016, hammering the Wildcats, 45-18. 2017 produced another epic battle. In a see-saw affair that resulted in three lead changes, the Falcons faced dim prospects, late in the match. Down 25-19, another loss to the Wildcats would likely spell doom for PM. The Falcons were up for the task. Jack Servies, Aiden Warren and Brooks Davis delivered a hat trick of decisions, before Noah Warren iced the victory with a pin. The series stands at four wins for Mater Dei and three for Perry Meridian. Individual match-ups between the two schools go back to the late 70’s when PM and MD were in the same semi-state. Perry Meridian’ Hall of Fame coach Phil Strader is still steaming over Steve Adams’ 1981 overtime loss to MD’s Jeff “Spiderman” Parkinson. Look no further than the team benches—you will find that the coaches have squared off against one another. For 25 years, you will be hard pressed to find a state tournament that does not contain at least one match-up between PM and MD. Here what to expect from meeting number eight: · Outside of the wrestling semi-state, this will be one of the biggest scholastic match-ups in this school year. Our esteemed newspaper, The Evansville Courier and Depressed, will not be aware of this event. It is highly unlikely there will be any pre or post-match coverage. · This will be the biggest dual in Evansville, since #1 (Kentucky) Union County wrestled #2 Mater Dei in 2013. 2000 rabid fans showed up for a barn burner. · Expect a big crowd for this one. MD alums home for Christmas, students, hardcore fans and casual fans will show up in force. Many in attendance will be from other, local programs. While they will not be vocal, emotionally they will throw their support to the Falcons. · For our friends travelling from Indy, take a little time to get to know the territory. After the meet, drop by the Hilltop Inn. Not only is it the “Manliest Bar in America”, for 68 years it has been THE gathering place after MD wrestling matches. Their fishbowls are not to be missed. · Expect HUGE match-ups: Cottey/Freeman at 106 and Lee/Warren at 145. Dickens and Fair at 152 could be the match of the night. Hook’s keys to a win: · Emotion and a fast start; I expect the draw and/or upsets to come into play. If Mater Dei gets a quick start, or an early upset, the roof will come off the place, creating momentum for the Cats that will be difficult to overcome. If the early scales tip to the Falcons, it will be bad for MD. Since 1976—42 years—Mater Dei has lost only one dual in its home gymnasium. · Bonus points will likely determine the winner of the dual. Maximizing wins and minimizing losses is crucial. · Big guns will be big guns; both of the belligerents have plenty of them! But what about the supporting cast? At the end of the day, I believe the non-stars will determine the outcome. what’s my prediction? I ran the lineups, coaches, injuries and atmospheric conditions through Randy Helfrich’s super-computer...i’m sworn to secrecy. Ask Randy.
  45. 14 points
    I like the idea of 15, but adding it to the middle of the lineup. 106, 113, 119, 125, 130, 135, 140, 145, 152, 160, 170,182, 195, 220, 285
  46. 14 points
    Y2CJ41

    Dream Team Classic Recap

    What a night of wrestling! Hollywood screenwriters could not have scripted a better event from start to finish. I could not have dreamed how packed or loud it would be when I first started planning the event. The Indiana guys came out ready to scrap and defend their home turf. When looking at the match-ups I thought a few matches would be ugly and we might give up a couple pins. Instead our kids didn't back down and were in all but one match. That just shows the progression of our state as a whole that our best guys CAN compete with the best in the country. The fans were the best! Cheering for our guys and that place got as loud as ever a few times. It was awesome to see everyone cheering for our guys and not being split up by cheering for kids from only your team or area. There is nothing better than a standing ovation in appreciation of the work these kids have put in over the years in this great sport. Brownsburg was a great host for the event. Coach Darrick Snyder and Athletic Director Kelli Waggoner went above and beyond to make this event a success. They rolled out the red carpet and many of the USA guys were extremely impressed with not only the new wrestling room, but the gym and everything at the event. A big thank you goes to our host families who took in kids for the weekend. I know the kids enjoyed themselves and it sounded like the families enjoyed it also. Thanks to the Lee's, Jean-Baptiste's, Cookerly's, Koonce's, Conley's, and Brewer's for stepping up and housing the kids. Also thank you to Nick Wiesjahn for hosting me. Thank you to our superb referees Jim Russell and Eric McGill. Russell seems to be quite popular with the Flo guys right now, so tune in to FRL tomorrow to hear what they have to say about the event. We had great support also from our sponsors the ISWA(yes that is not a typo), KC Battlegear, and Invicta Wrestling Academy. Make sure to support these companies as they are here to help Indiana wrestling. Also thanks to Cody Bryant and Wrestling USA for organizing the USA guys, being an ear for complaints and suggestions, and many behind the scenes help. Cliff Keen athletic did a great job with the gear and I know I have extra that we may give out soon, so be on the lookout. It was a great night of wrestling to showcase Indiana wrestling and our kids blew the roof off the Bone Zone. I am just hoping I don't get a bill for repairing that roof!
  47. 14 points
    Kookie953

    2018 Dream Team Classic April 14

    So I’m one of the #PainTrain families lucky enough to host two of the Team USA kids. Side note, what an awesome group of young men on both sides. Was a blessing to spend time with great young people. But my kid I’m hosting just said (In between games of Fortnight) “Man! I knew about Mason and Brayton of course...but your Indiana dudes brought it and that was really impressive. And what an awesome atmosphere and such a fun dual...I’m so happy I came to this!” Our State did just fine tonight.
  48. 14 points
    Hornet Coach

    Who impressed you the most

    Fattore impressed me the most and it had nothing to do with his wrestling. This young man carried himself like a champion after a questionable call. Nicely done young man!
  49. 14 points
    FIREPROOF

    Who's in,who's out

    Actually, I'll reply to this post since I happen to be one of the parents of this particular individual. First of all, I will be the first to say that before this season ever started and Myles was going back and forth on whether not he was going to wrestle, the only thing we asked of him was that if he did indeed start the season that he finished it as that is all we've ever asked of any of our kids. We didn't "allow" him to quit the team. He is almost 19 years old and unfortunately he is technically an "adult". As his parents, there's not a whole heck of a lot we can do! Believe me there have been numerous people, past/present coaches, administrators, mentors, that have tried talking to him. We have literally done all we could to try to get him to complete the season. It's easy to point fingers and say "why would they", "how could they"? Sometimes as parents our hands are tied. We have to let them fail on their own, allow them to make those "adult" decisions and pay the consequences. There's no doubt that he will regret this decision one day. We don't support or agree with his decision but we will love him regardless. If this past year had taught me anything, it's this. I will never again say "that won't be my kid" or "why didn't those parents do something about it" because now we are "those parents".
  50. 13 points
    Here is Faulkens' phone right now
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.