Jump to content

Article: 2020 Super 32 Preview

Recommended Posts

The season is around the corner and this weekend will be the ultimate test for Indiana grapplers at the Super 32. There are 45 Indiana athletes registered for this year’s event in Myrtle Beach. Of interest will be a few wrestlers that will be new to Indiana wrestling this year that could make a big impact at Bankers Life in February.


Belt Contenders

Three state champions along with a sophomore with a load of national success highlight the Indiana wrestlers that will contend for a coveted Super 32 belt. Sergio Lemley is back in Indiana after winning an Illinois state title last year. He is nationally ranked and won IHPO in September. He will be in the mix at a deep 120lbs weight class.


State champion Zeke Seltzer took an early loss last year and was unable to crack the top 8. This year he will take on a lot of top guys at 126lbs. His weight features the two top ranked guys in the nation, but Zeke has shown he belongs in this group.


Chesterton’s Evan Bates won a state title at 220lbs but will be looking for a belt at 195lbs this weekend. He placed 5th here last year at 195lbs. His toughest foes include a couple top 5 wrestlers in Seth Shumate and Brandon Hoselton.


Lastly, Christian Carroll is also in the mix at 195lbs. Everyone in Indiana has known for a while he is extremely talented. However, he did not get to show it off as an injury sidelined him last year. He won the Grappler Fall Classic at 215lbs a couple weeks ago knocking off a couple ranked wrestlers. He is one that many inside and outside of Indiana are watching this weekend.


Podium Contenders

Some wrestlers to watch that are contenders to reach the podium include state champion Alex Cottey, runner-up Cheaney Schoeff, third placer Hayden Watson, and three-time placer David Pierson. Cottey made a deep run last year and will return to 113lbs this year. He will be big at this weight and his extremely physical style will bode well for him. He has had some national success in the past at Fargo so he is no stranger to big event placements.


Schoeff had a great run last year at the state finals. Look for him to make a deep run in Myrtle Beach at 120lbs. He gave Lemley a great match at IHPO. This could be his breakout national event.


Watson and Pierson both had great IHPO tournaments. Watson lost a close match in the finals to a top 5 wrestler, while Pierson won a deep weight in…. David Pierson style. Watson is going to be trouble for everyone that he faces with a relentless in your face style. Pierson is a wildcard that can end a match at any time. He will need to string together multiple solid matches in a row to make the podium.


Others to keep your eyes on

A couple new faces to Indiana will be interesting to watch. Crown Point will have Javen Estrada in the lineup this year. He was a state qualifier in Illinois last year and had a really good IHPO event. South Carolina state champion Matteo Vargo will be new to Granger this year and is entered at 126lbs. Obviously South Carolina is not a power state so it will be interesting to see him in a field this deep.


Brownsburg freshman Preston Haines will be another wrestler to watch. He placed 4th at IHPO and could be a contender for a state title this year. Evan Dickey will be back at 106lbs and keeps improving each year. He could be a sleeper at a weight loaded with younger athletes.


State placers to watch include runner-ups Matthew Koontz and Jujuan Anderson. Third place finishers Logan Frazier, Kysen Montgomery, Jaden Reynolds, and Aiden Warren could be in the mix to make the podium. Reynolds won an IHPO title in September and has had a very good off-season. Montgomery and Frazier are both solid wrestlers that could put together a run of wins to put themselves in a good spot to place. Warren is taking a week off from the gridiron to hit the mats this week. Another wrestler to watch is Gavinn Alstott. He was 4th in 2019 at state, but had a death draw at semi-state this year. Lastly, the other state placers entered include Stephan Roberson Jr., Ian Heath, and Christian White.


Super 32 History

Indiana has had 45 placers at the Super 32. The first placer was Camden Eppert in 2008. There have been four champions from Indiana: Blake Rypel(2015), Chad Red(2014), Jarred Brooks(2011), and Ethan Raley(2010). There have been seven runner-ups in the event: Nick South(2018), Lucas Davison(2017), Neal Molloy(2012), Devon Jackson(2011), Jason Tsirtsis(2010), Brandon Wright(2009), and Jason Tsirtsis(2009). There have been six wrestlers place twice, they include Blake Rypel, Brayton Lee, Chad Red, Drew Hughes, Jason Tsirtsis, and Joe Lee.


To see all the past placers, click here.


Indiana Entries

Weight Name School State Place
106 Evan Dickey Indianapolis Cathedral Qual
106 Preston Haines Brownsburg  
113 Alexzander Cottey Perry Meridian 1st
113 Dylan Driver Westfield Qual
113 Keaton Morton Perry Meridian  
120 Logan Frazier Crown Point 3rd
120 Brac Hooper Carmel Qual
120 Sergio Lemley Chesterton 1st
120 Cheaney Schoeff Avon 2nd
120 Tony Wood Jay County  
126 Stephen Roberson Jr Crown Point 5th
126 Zeke Seltzer Indianapolis Cathedral 1st
126 Matteo Vargo Penn 1st
132 Gavinn Alstott Floyd Central 4th
132 Cameron Clark Jay County  
132 Alecsander Freeman Mater Dei 6th
132 Kysen Montgomery Brownsburg 3rd
132 David Pierson Warren Central 4th
132 Christian White New Palestine 5th
138 Luke Goodwin Southport 7th
138 Ian Heath Leo 6th
138 Matthew Koontz Perry Meridian 2nd
138 Hayden Watson Center Grove 3rd
145 Javen Estrada Crown Point Qual
145 Cody Goodwin Crown Point  
145 Brady Mckivitz Perry Meridian  
145 Jaden Reynolds Avon 3rd
152 Jajuan Anderson Warren Central 2nd
152 J Conway Floyd Central 6th
152 Orlando Cruz Crown Point Qual
160 Trae Anderson Laporte  
160 Brody Baumann Mater Dei Qual
160 Tyler Jones Warren Central 7th
160 Kade Law Columbus East Qual
160 Jakob Sheets Perry Meridian  
170 Sam Morrill Columbus East 8th
182 Johnny Parker Cathedral Qual
182 Keon Sullivan Warren Central  
195 Connor Barket West Lafayette Qual
195 Evan Bates Chesterton 1st
195 Christian Carroll Penn  
195 Aiden Warren Perry Meridian 3rd
220 Joshua Howell Terre Haute South Vigo Qual
220 Conner Specht Jay County  
285 Jacob Johnson Franklin Community Qual

View full article

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.