The Scholastic Duals - some history of Indiana and why we are where we are.

samaj

I thought I would write some history on the Scholastic Duals, the IHSWCA involvement, and the Renegades..  I will try to keep this short, but doubt it ends up that way.

First - Who am I?  My name is Jeff Schaefer.  I own E.I. Sports and Apparel in Evansville, I am an assistant coach at Evansville Memorial, I am the team gear provider and sponsor for the IHSWCA Scholastic teams (I provide the team gear for the IHSWCA Gold and Blue teams at my cost each year which provides them top quality gear at a greatly reduced cost), I am the coordinator of the Renegades teams and I helped promote, plan, fill spots, and coached with the IHSWCA Scholastic Duals teams for 10-12 years.  So basically, I know a lot of the inside story on a lot of the questions and issues that are happening right now.

The IHSWCA - The coaches association has been sponsoring two teams at this event for many years.  My first year was in 2003 and at that time they had been involved for several years already.  At the time I joined the fray in 2003 the event was at Delaware Univ. but it went to Delaware State for a couple of years, then to York College in PA, and maybe one other location before being moved to Indiana and Wabash College.  Back when I started helping, the IHSWCA had trouble filling the team with our top notch kids.  We got some blue chippers but it was a struggle.  Many of our best programs and coaches simply would not buy in and commit to this event.  Over the next few years we made a significant push to educate the coaches and programs in the state and recruit the very best kids by talking about the event, talking to coaches earlier, and just working harder to be better prepared.