Building Numbers

LionsFan

I'm curious how some schools who maybe haven't had the most success in recent years and haven't had the numbers get kids to come out and wrestle. At Rushville we have around 800 kids. We wrestled at Sectionals with 7 with 10 on the team. I've been coaching at Rushville for four years now and we have never had more than 20 kids. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

It all starts with building numbers at the lower levels. What type of club program do you have in place for kids at the elementary level, do you run elementary camps or an entire club program? What involvement do you have with the middle school development? Do you have coaches in the building? What is your relationship with the football coach, this can be huge in working as a team to get kids out for your program.

It all starts with building numbers at the lower levels. What type of club program do you have in place for kids at the elementary level, do you run elementary camps or an entire club program? What involvement do you have with the middle school development? Do you have coaches in the building? What is your relationship with the football coach, this can be huge in working as a team to get kids out for your program.

We have a pretty solid elementary group. We have around 50 kids participating. Our MS team has around 20-25 kids. I know I will lose some of those to basketball when they get in high school. I teach at one of our elementarys. I don't have anyone at the high school and that's very tough. Our football coach has a "football or nothing" mentality, which is depressing since we are not very strong in football.