Jump to content
Bruschi

Denton/Fuqua match

Recommended Posts

I did not see it live but watched the replay on Broadcastsports, but the action went out of the screen.  The refs gave Fuqua 2, coach for Denton argued and the call was reversed.  Was this a good call? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In fairness, the referee changed the call after talking to the assistant.  Twin Lakes coach did address the head official, but the call wasn't changed until after both officials talked it out.  I agree with the call that stood. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

  The call was changed because the officials said Fuquas knees were out of bounds.

  His feet were in bounds, which was acknowledged, which makes this a bad call

  Also Denton was warned early for stalling and should have been called for it later.

  Good match though, would like to see a rematch at state.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw it live and haven't seen a replay. I think the right call was made I don't think he had control. It could've gone either way. If they meet again I think we will see a different outcome.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

  The call was changed because the officials said Fuquas knees were out of bounds.

  His feet were in bounds, which was acknowledged, which makes this a bad call

  Also Denton was warned early for stalling and should have been called for it later.

  Good match though, would like to see a rematch at state.

 

Obviously the knees were the supporting points therefore it was the correct call

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wasn't there but knees being supporting parts wouldn't matter . In a line call situation the rule says the scoring wriestker must  finsh with feet/toes in bounds.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Re: Denton/Fuqua match

 

« Reply #8 on: Today at 12:34:15 PM »

 

Quote

 

 

I wasn't there but knees being supporting parts wouldn't matter . In a line call situation the rule says the scoring wriestker must  finsh with feet/toes in bounds.

 

 

This is correct in a situation where action is inbounds and ends out of bounds. Not when one wrestler is out of bounds for several seconds, the "offensive wrestler" is in bounds on his toes, drops to his knees and then goes back on his toes. In that situation, once the knees hit they become supporting parts and the whistle should have been blown. End result, right call was made which is all that matters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

would you also like to show the pictures for 10 seconds prior to that? They didn't "fall" to that position.

 

 

Totally agree with that point.  Fuqua had supporting points out of bounds  for 10 seconds prior to the takedown  (his whole body).  Fuqua did  a good job of keeping toes in,  but he only had  control of one leg,  and for some reason  the referee forgot what the definition of what out of bounds was.    After an eternity of wrestling out of bounds,  Fuqua  finally grabbed the second leg.    I think the gravity of the situation got to the ref and he froze on his whistle.  Thank god he had the experience and wisdom to ask the assistant referee.    Just because a kid is an undefeated state champ, doesn't mean he should gets special treatment on calls.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.