Jump to content
  • McCormick Named USA Wrestling Kids Person of the Year


    From TheMat.com

    McCormick named USA Wrestling Kids Person of the Year


    Gary Abbott USA Wrestling

    McCormick.jpg Trent McCormick of Indiana, the USA Wrestling Kids Person of the Year, poses with his son Cael.


    Trent McCormick of Muncie, Ind. was named Kids Person of the Year by USA Wrestling. The award annually honors a leader who has to made great contributions to Kids wrestling in the United States.


    McCormick is a club leader and coach in his community, and has been a leader on the Indiana State Wrestling Association (ISWA) Board of Directors. He has also been involved in developing and promoting high-quality events within his state.


    “I was both humbled and honored when I was notified that I had been recognized for this award by USA Wrestling. With my son heading into the sixth grade, we have been very involved in USA Wrestling's Kids program for many years. I would like to thank the USA Wrestling staff and the Indiana State Wrestling Association for the framework they offer to young wrestlers across our state and country. USA Wrestling and the ISWA have certainly played a big part in my family’s lives over the years.”


    McCormick established and has led the Yorktown Wrestling Club for 14 years. It is a very successful club with a large membership base, which was built through effective communication and community collaboration.


    He has worked with the ISWA to develop and promote the Indiana Elementary Schools program, where clubs around the state are invited to participate in dual-meet events during the winter season. McCormick also was a leader with the Indiana Schoolboy Festival, which later grew into the USA Wrestling National Schoolboy Duals. For eight years, the event was hosted by the ISWA and the Yorktown WC at Yorktown High School.


    McCormick has served as head wrestling coach at Yorktown High School since 1988, when he took over the program as a sophomore in college. During his 21 years as head coach, McCormick has amassed 310 dual meet victories and over 50 tournament titles. For 18 years, he was coaching while working in the private work sector. For the last three years, he has been an environmental science teacher at Yorktown High School, and is a football coach in addition to his wrestling position.


    He is an NCEP Bronze certified coach. McCormick has served on the ISWA Board for many years, including six years as the State Coach. In 2009, he was elected as Vice-President of the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association.


    His son Cael competes in USA Wrestling local, state, regional and national events. His wife Jennifer is also a strong supporter of wrestling, serving on the ISWA Board as an equipment director and a scholarship director.


    McCormick competed at Delta High School in Muncie, where he was a state champion as a senior and placed fourth in the state as a junior. His 1985 performance helped Delta to win its fourth straight state team title under coach Don Patton. He competed for one year on the wrestling team at Wabash College, and finished his college career at Ball State earning a degree in biology.


    An example of the kind of leadership that McCormick provides in Indiana is apparent from an interview he did with IndianaMat.com.


    “I believe what makes wrestling so great is the people. Although we strive to improve our technique, coaching expertise and placement at national events, I believe our mission is bigger than this. Our greater mission is to attempt to raise our wrestlers to be productive and caring citizens,” said McCormick.


    Kids Person of the Year

    1978 - Bill Knapp, New York

    1979 - Ken Coover, Kansas

    1980 - Gary Hoyt, Nebraska

    1981 - Pat Alexander. Washington

    1982 - Dave Gliniecki, Washington

    1983 - John Spencer, Idaho

    1984 - Jerry Opbroek, South Dakota

    1985 - Joe Edmonson, Nebraska

    1986 - David Rudrud, Wisconsin

    1987 - Virgil Moon, Oregon

    1988 - Ron Wagner, North Dakota

    1989 - Paul Corder, Missouri

    1990 - Ron Reichert, Illinois

    1991 - Randy Staab, Washington

    1992 - Dan Drinkwine, Minnesota

    1993 - Mike McCoy, Florida

    1994 - Roger Hanson, Idaho

    1995 - Norman Osteen, North Carolina

    1996 - Kathy Hopkins, Wyoming

    1997 - Steve Wachal, Iowa

    1998 - Virgil Moon, Oregon

    1999 - Frank Rader, North Carolina

    2000 - Sue Siar, Pennsylvania

    2001 - Paul DeFosse, Rhode Island

    2002 - Steve Knipp, Iowa

    2003 - Haswell Franklin, Maryland

    2004 – Gregory and Leanna Grater, Kansas

    2005 – George Anne and Jim Ritter, Nevada

    2006 – Bobby DeBerry, Arizona

    2007 – R.E. Hartley, New York

    2008 – Kevin White, North Dakota

    2009 – Trent McCormick, Indiana


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    This is now closed for further comments

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.