Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Fabio Jr.

Leg Turk nearfall

Question

When running a leg turk wrestler A gets a 5 count releases and the cross face and allows wrestler b tomget back to his belly with no arms in or holds being done aside from the turk. If wrestler goes back to a leg turk is that considered a new hold and near fall is awarded or does he hold the three? 

Can't seem to find a situation in the case book

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

I guess I’d preface it with the standard referee’s answer... “it’s usually not a black and white answer and I’d have to see the particular match/situation to comment”

That being said, the question would be was he neutral and could he defend?

Note: this response was typed from a cold deer stand

 

Chuck Barnett, IHSAA Interpreter 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

One of the things we look for in this situation are the hips.  If the turk is still in and hips are not square to the mat, then NF would not be awarded yet as the defensive man cannot defend himself.  

Bart Welch, IHSAA Official

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×