Jump to content
  • Announcements

    • Y2CJ41

      Board Rules and Regulations

      If you find TheIndianaMat.com Message Boards helpful or interesting, then you know how important it is to keep the boards clean and accurate. Please only post messages that are genuine questions or attempts to share knowledge.   In order to ensure that the boards are as helpful and enjoyable as possible to as many people as possible, we have established the following rules for the boards. No message may   1. Contain, promote, or link to sexually explicit or violent material. 2. Promote, depict, or link to material that promotes or depicts discrimination based on race, gender, religion, national origin, physical or mental disability, sexual orientation, or age; 3. Contain unlawful material, including but not limited to materials that may violate another's intellectual property rights, or links to a site that contains such material; 4. Contain information regarding or promoting illegal activity, or linking to a site that provides such information; Contains spam, pyramid schemes, or other unrelated advertising material; or 5. Is considered by us to be obscene, excessively violent, threatening, harassing or otherwise objectionable; or Is deemed by us to be unsuitable for any other reason. 6. If we decide that a post is unacceptable, we will remove the post. Depending on the severity of the post or the past history of the user who made the post, we may rescind that user's membership. 7. Advertising for goods and services will only be allowed by our paid sponsors. 8. Topics and discussions need to be in their proper forum. Repeated failure to follow this could result in permanent restriction on posting on this forum. Since we can't have a rule to cover everything, this is the rule to, well, cover everything. This is a public board, so act like you would if you were in a public place.These issues are left to the discretion of individual moderators, but may include any material that is knowingly false and/or defamatory, discussion of alleged felonies and misdemeanors, misleading, spammy, inaccurate, abusive, vulgar, hateful, harassing, sexist, obscene, racist, profane, sexually oriented, threatening, invasive of a person's privacy, that otherwise violates any law, or that encourages conduct constituting a criminal offense. Asking for or offering any of the material listed above is also out not permitted. Thank you for helping to maintain the quality of our boards.   -- The IndianaMat.com Team
Sign in to follow this  

Article: 2017 IndianaMat Awards

Recommended Posts

Mr. Gorilla Voting Results(1st place votes)

See article here


1st- Andrew Davison(18)

2nd- Breyden Bailey(8)

3rd- Alec White(2)


Others with 1st place votes

Alston Bane(2)

Eli Stock(2)

Colton Cummings(1)


Past Mr. Gorilla Award Winners

2016- Chad Red of New Palestine

2015- Tommy Forte of Mishawaka


3A Coach of the Year

Chris Joll from Chesterton

Returning 13 starters from their 2016 squad the Trojans were poised for a spectacular season. Riding the waves of some talented big guys Coach Chris Joll's squad finished 2nd at state. Individually the Trojans qualified six wretlers for the state finals with five of them placing. Andrew Davison became the 5th wrestler in school history to win a state champion joining his father and assistant coach Keith, Joh DeHart, and Jim Popp. Also placing were runner-ups Lucas Davison and Diego Lemley, 4th place finisher Eli Pokorney, and 8th place finisher Jack Tolin.


Honorable Mention: Darrick Snyder from Brownsburg and Matt Schoettle from Perry Meridian

Past Winners

2016- Darrick Snyder from Brownsburg

2015- Brad Harper from Penn


2A Coach of the Year

Trent McCormick from Yorktown

Word on the street is that Yorktown will need to add on with all of the hardware just from the wrestling team. The Tigers had two state champions this year in Brayden Curtis and Brad Laughlin. They also had runner-up Christian Hunt and 8th place finisher Jacob Rhoades. On top of placing 4th at the state finals, Yorktown captured their fourth IHSWCA 2A Team State Duals title in five years.


Honorable Mention: Maurice Swain from North Montgomery

Past Winners

2016- Mark Kerrn from Jimtown

2015- Trent McCormick from Yorktown


1A Coach of the Year

Gary Black from Shenandoah

The Shenandoah Raiders lead by Gary Black have quickly become a program to watch in the state. With a relatively young line-up the Raiders finished 2nd at the IHSWCA Team State Duals in a match that went down to the wire. Individually, coach Black's squad had four state qualifiers including runner-up AJ Black and 8th place finishers Ryan Surguy and Josh Gee.


Honorable Mention: Brett Smith from Prairie Heights

Past Winners

2016- Brett Smith from Prairie Heights

2015- Tony Currie from Adams Central


3A Wrestler of the Year

Joe Lee from Evansville Mater Dei

The rumor on the street is that Joe Lee eats broken glass sprinkled with gunpowder and chugs a gallon of diesel fuel before each match. When you see him wrestle, you understand why that rumor has legs. Lee sliced through the field like a hot knife through butter this year with no one getting within 9 points of him during the state series. Lee has already committed to Penn State with one more year of high school left.


Honorable Mention: Brayton Lee from Brownsburg

Past Winners

2016- Blake Rypel from Indianapolis Cathedral

2015- Chad Red from New Palestine


2A Wrestler of the Year

Mason Parris from Lawrenceburg

Mason Parris is good at wrestling. In three years Parris has amassed 159 victories in 160 matches. This year in 53 matches he had 41 pins with only one match going the full six minutes. Parris is already in the talk of one of the best big men in the history of Indiana with one year left to wrestle.


Honorable Mention: Brad Laughlin from Yorktown

Past Winners

2016- Brock Hudkins from Danville

2015- Brock Hudkins from Danville


1A Wrestler of the Year

Eli Stock from Monrovia

One of the best stories to come out of this year's state tournament is Eli Stock from Monrovia. This Bulldog defied odds time after time and after the dust had settled he was on top of the podium. After another lengthy football season Stock stepped it up during the state series. He had to fend off numerous challengers in a LOADED regional in which all four competitors punched tickets to state. Stock's run in the post season this year will be talked about for many years go come.


Honorable Mention: Evan Ellis from Eastern

Past Winners

2016- Evan Ellis from Eastern

2015- Sawyer Miller from South Adams


Click here to view the article

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this