Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
gogoplata89

Stalling question

Question

After seeing a double stalling in the 132 final this past weekend. One of my wrestlers asked me what would happen if it would happen in OT with both wrestlers having a stall call already, I was stumped and would like to hear what a licensed official has to say.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Just approximately and on the average, how many double stalling calls would you guys say you make in a season?

There is no average and no certain amount of times. Double stalling is justified when neither wrestler is attempting to score. This would include hand fighting, pummeling, gaining head position, etc...without ATTEMPTING to score.

 

Tom Clark

IHSAA Rules Interpreter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Stalling is to be called the same in overtime as the regular match with the exception of the ultimate tie breaker, it is not stalling in the ultimate tie breaker down on the mat, it is considered controlled wrestling, but while in the standing position it could be called stalling. Penalty sequence: 1st offense Stall Warning, 1st penalty 1 point, 2nd penalty 1 point, 3rd penalty 2 points, 4th penalty disqualification. In the 70's both wrestler's were disqualified for stalling in the State Championship match, there was no 1st or 2nd place.

Jim Russell IHSAA Rules Interpreter

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×