Jump to content

- - - - -

2017 IndianaMat Awards

Awards Coach of the Year Wrestler of the Year

Mr. Gorilla Voting Results(1st place votes)
See article here
1st- Andrew Davison(18)
2nd- Breyden Bailey(8)
3rd- Alec White(2)

Others with 1st place votes
Alston Bane(2)
Eli Stock(2)
Colton Cummings(1)

Past Mr. Gorilla Award Winners
2016- Chad Red of New Palestine
2015- Tommy Forte of Mishawaka

3A Coach of the Year
Chris Joll from Chesterton
Returning 13 starters from their 2016 squad the Trojans were poised for a spectacular season. Riding the waves of some talented big guys Coach Chris Joll's squad finished 2nd at state. Individually the Trojans qualified six wretlers for the state finals with five of them placing. Andrew Davison became the 5th wrestler in school history to win a state champion joining his father and assistant coach Keith, Joh DeHart, and Jim Popp. Also placing were runner-ups Lucas Davison and Diego Lemley, 4th place finisher Eli Pokorney, and 8th place finisher Jack Tolin.

Honorable Mention: Darrick Snyder from Brownsburg and Matt Schoettle from Perry Meridian
Past Winners
2016- Darrick Snyder from Brownsburg
2015- Brad Harper from Penn

2A Coach of the Year
Trent McCormick from Yorktown
Word on the street is that Yorktown will need to add on with all of the hardware just from the wrestling team. The Tigers had two state champions this year in Brayden Curtis and Brad Laughlin. They also had runner-up Christian Hunt and 8th place finisher Jacob Rhoades. On top of placing 4th at the state finals, Yorktown captured their fourth IHSWCA 2A Team State Duals title in five years.

Honorable Mention: Maurice Swain from North Montgomery
Past Winners
2016- Mark Kerrn from Jimtown
2015- Trent McCormick from Yorktown

1A Coach of the Year
Gary Black from Shenandoah
The Shenandoah Raiders lead by Gary Black have quickly become a program to watch in the state. With a relatively young line-up the Raiders finished 2nd at the IHSWCA Team State Duals in a match that went down to the wire. Individually, coach Black's squad had four state qualifiers including runner-up AJ Black and 8th place finishers Ryan Surguy and Josh Gee.

Honorable Mention: Brett Smith from Prairie Heights
Past Winners
2016- Brett Smith from Prairie Heights
2015- Tony Currie from Adams Central

3A Wrestler of the Year
Joe Lee from Evansville Mater Dei
The rumor on the street is that Joe Lee eats broken glass sprinkled with gunpowder and chugs a gallon of diesel fuel before each match. When you see him wrestle, you understand why that rumor has legs. Lee sliced through the field like a hot knife through butter this year with no one getting within 9 points of him during the state series. Lee has already committed to Penn State with one more year of high school left.

Honorable Mention: Brayton Lee from Brownsburg
Past Winners
2016- Blake Rypel from Indianapolis Cathedral
2015- Chad Red from New Palestine

2A Wrestler of the Year
Mason Parris from Lawrenceburg
Mason Parris is good at wrestling. In three years Parris has amassed 159 victories in 160 matches. This year in 53 matches he had 41 pins with only one match going the full six minutes. Parris is already in the talk of one of the best big men in the history of Indiana with one year left to wrestle.

Honorable Mention: Brad Laughlin from Yorktown
Past Winners
2016- Brock Hudkins from Danville
2015- Brock Hudkins from Danville

1A Wrestler of the Year
Eli Stock from Monrovia
One of the best stories to come out of this year's state tournament is Eli Stock from Monrovia. This Bulldog defied odds time after time and after the dust had settled he was on top of the podium. After another lengthy football season Stock stepped it up during the state series. He had to fend off numerous challengers in a LOADED regional in which all four competitors punched tickets to state. Stock's run in the post season this year will be talked about for many years go come.

Honorable Mention: Evan Ellis from Eastern
Past Winners
2016- Evan Ellis from Eastern
2015- Sawyer Miller from South Adams